Baseball Pics & Video From Today (2 for 7, 2 Runs & 3 RBI) Hitting .385 Through 4 Games

in #baseball5 years ago (edited)

I always love this feeling. Soaking in the scene of a ball towering up into the outfield for an easy Sac Fly.

Through 4 games, I'm hitting .385 with 4 RBI and 4 Runs. This is a decent start, but I should be one tick better for my usual self.

In Game 1 today, I went 2-3 with a Sac Fly (seen in first series of pics below). I had two RBI singles, one sharp one by a diving third basemen, and the second was a single right up the middle with perfect timing.

I went 0-4 in game 2, struggling with the cold/windy/fading daylight after pitching 4 or 5 innings in the first game. I got stiff and couldn't get comfortable with the conditions for some reason. I fell into a bad habit of trying to crush the ball in front of the plate, instead of waiting for it to get deep over the plate for better timing. I also took some very borderline pitches that I should've fouled off to protect my at bat. In my last at bat, I fouled at least 5 balls off before striking out on a full count, on what was a ball. The umpire expanded the zone with the fading daylight, and I should've adjusted for that. I'll reset for next week.

Hit cleanup (4th) both games.

Either way, hitting .385 after an 0-4 isn't bad at all, but it's disappointing because I started the first 3 games on fire. Can't win em all...


We won Game 1 today on a walk-off hit, and had to tie/draw the second in extra innings due to running out of time/daylight.

Here are pics of my Sac Fly to center field, where the runner on third tagged up to the bag to score at home after the fielder caught it. This doesn't hurt your batting average, as is counts like a walk. With a deep count, I was trying to lift the ball into the outfield to bring the runner home (sacrificing myself for an out in exchange for a run), so it was a job well done.


Poised.

Simple contact swing on high pitch for RBI Sac Fly. Couldn't drive it, so stood tall to get it in play.

Follow through.

"That's deep enough, job done."

Still need to run it out.

Video of sharp foul ball on a slider away, just throwing my hands to the ball for contact.

I waited for the ball to get deep on the plate (main goal this year).

Go ball go... (easy double if I got in the line).

This pitcher in the video is nothing special, but he ALWAYS gets me out. I grounded out right to him next pitch. We have a friendly rivalry over the years because I can never get hits off of him and we joke about it. His pitches are screaming to get crushed, and I think that's why I don't hit him well -- not staying back to let them get to me. With this in mind, you can see my extreme wait on the slow slider to go opposite field to try to correct this issue.

In the second game, he made a spectacular sliding catch on a foul ball I hit to further his status my nemesis. I screamed "F you" at him right after his web gem, and we both laughed. It's fun to have fun matchups like this. It's all respect.

All pics/video were from the sunny/warm first game. It got lousy out after this.


Pithing: I was the starting pitcher of the first game again with mixed results, again. My knuckeball was moving like crazy today. It was moving so much I couldn't control it. Had a few strikeouts. Hitters swung and missed it by a mile, looking stupid at times and baffled. However, several eventually adjusted and moved up in the box to cut off its late sharp break, and crushed a bunch of them. They were a good hitting team. My fastball was spot on, but I didn't trust myself to throw it more. I have some work to do on locating my knuckleball and mixing in more fastballs as the season gets off the ground.


Last Week's Opening Day Video Of Hit & Pics

Thanks for following! More games next Sunday after Austin!

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Good contact - punching the ball down first base line. A little foul but almost a double.

good luck with the next one man :)
not gonna lie you are making me miss playing football.
haven't been on the field for a few months.
gotta at least find a soccer field here in Iran because no football here :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10