Baseball Season Update - Already Eclipsing Last Years Stats With 12 Games Left In The Regular Season

in #baseball5 years ago (edited)

Here's a pic from this past Sunday where I had 3 hits in 7 at bats, with 1 Run and 2 RBI.

I was the winning pitcher in our second game, ending the contest on a difficult catch of a foul ball near home plate, where I completely ran over our catcher without even feeling it. I was that focused and determined to win that game with the tying run on second base.

Through 15 regular season games (12 to go), my offensive stats are:

Plate Appearances: 55
Official At Bats: 47 (Minus Walks, SAC Fly, HBP)
Hits: 18
Batting Average: .383
On Base %: .440
Runs: 11
RBIs: 17 (third in league)
Doubles: 3
Home Runs: 1
Walks: 5
Sac Fly: 2
Strikeouts: 12 (mostly bad timing swinging too early on slow pitchers)
Hit By Pitch: 1 (left thigh)
Fielding Errors: 1


Pitching:

I've pitched 29 innings so far and have a record of 3 wins and 2 losses. I usually pitch exceptionally well for 3-4 innings, but then hit a wall when the lineup faces me the third time. This has cost me in ERA and WHIP, which is currently higher than previous years, but I have plenty of time to correct it.

Two seasons ago, I had an ERA of 2.15 over the full season and was a league leader in the stat.

I've struck out 12 batters and walked 8 this year. Since I mainly throw a knuckleball, I'm essentially begging hitters to make bad contact with the ball, so strikeouts aren't as common. Getting them to swing and miss three times at a knuckleball isn't easy, but at least I usually make everyone look stupid a few times during their at bats, even if they eventually get a hit.

The opposing bench often has fun watching me and is complimentary with lots of respect for being able to effectively throw a difficult pitch they struggle with. We have fun jawing at each other when I challenge them to take one for a ride if they can.

My ball looks so easy to hit (their eyes light up), but it has sharp late movement to it that leaves people baffled when the umpire calls it a strike. Additionally, this makes it hard for them to make solid contact.

Most batters look silly when swinging, but they eventually get mad after the embarrassment/team prodding, and move up in the batter's box with a vengeance to eventually get a hit (which usually isn't a good one as an ugly late swing sometimes drops a ball somewhere in the field). I do get a ball crushed off me once in a while, but that's part of the game.


Looking Forward:

For offensive comparison, I had 18 RBI in 25 games last year and led my team by 50%. I really want to get to 30 RBI this year and be in the MVP talks. Right now, I'd say that it's within reach for top 5, but there are 3 other players who are also having monster seasons, who are a decent click above me. If they slump, I may be able to catch them, but if they continue on their torrid pace, I'll be behind. I just have to keep up the pace and not miss opportunities to produce.

At any rate, I'm pretty much a lock for another All-Star game appearance. I'm in great shape for ball right now and still have plenty of season left.

I'd really like another home run and to have a .375+ batting average with 20+ runs and 30+ RBI. Our team is doing well in third place with a powerful offense I'm right in the heart of, so these numbers are possible.

I credit my offseason lifting and simple batting practice 2-3 times a month to stay sharp with the elevated results. I have a lot left in the tank and am ready to bring my offense to the next level I know I can reach when I'm focused and healthy.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Hopefully one day I'll get to go to US so I can watch a baseball match.
seems exciting! :D

It's a very different sporting experience than what you're used to. If you understand the game, it's exciting. If you don't, it can be confusing and boring. As a little lesson, it's a baseball game. We usually don't say match unless it's soccer or tennis, etc..

ow ok got it! baseball game it is then! :D

Slow pitchers are the worst lol 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Even though my knuckleball is slow, it's supposed to be slow. People who have slow fastballs are difficult for me. I usually like pitches in the 80-85 MPH range, but not everyone has that velocity, and I'm left waiting and waiting and waiting and wa

Totally understand, I had a difficult time with the no gas pitchers back in the day myself...

Hope to see another homer post next time boss!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm my own worst enemy for home runs. I have more than enough bat speed and power, but my bat path/launch angle is usually very level. This gets me lots of contact and hits, but isn't conducive to deep flies. I have to really clobber a ball and get tons of backspin for it to go, versus hitting it high into the sky for it to sail over. My home run this year was a laser beam line drive that acted like a missile. I couldn't even enjoy it because I never thought it'd go that far, so I ran with my head down. I barely ever hit one way up there where I can watch it with 100% confidence.

I hit that glorious you know it's a bomb only twice and it had everything to do with going up against a future D1 flame thrower. This dude was clocking 90 at age 16 I had rocked him in little league when he threw in the 70s at age 12.

Back of the box shoulder dipped late contact over the opposite field wall both times. After the high school game he told me he remembered me doing the same in our little league regional game, which was a game winner and took us to state.

Even though I was just a kid I can vividly remember the magical feeling of that ball effortlessly zooming off the bat.

Every other homer was the same for me in high school, line drives I pulled hard on and ran like hell til I heard a cheer.

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82