Video Of My Clutch All Star Game Saving Hit (9th Inning, 2 Outs, Down By A Run)... Blasted A 2 RBI Double To Send My Team Into A Frenzy!

in #baseball5 years ago (edited)

Check out this video of my game-saving hit with 2 outs in the 9th. I was so close to getting the MVP award, but my counterpart did the same for his team in the bottom of the 9th when our closer choked to blow the game. It came down to a play at the plate, and the runner beat my tag by half an inch. Damn.

Thankfully that dude next to me is my friend.

Amateur video of my hit and team's reaction. I'm glad my friend caught it since I didn't ask.

THIS SHOULD'VE BEEN MINE!!


Story:

The pitcher didn't throw too hard, but I knew he threw a lot of first pitch fastballs. In my last at bat, I drove a single to right field after a deep count, so I was seeing him well. I prefer pitchers who throw a bit harder so I don't have to sit back and think too much.

I got in the box and knew that I had to make good contact to drive in both runs. No fly balls. I got a pitch right in my sweet spot and my eyes lit up. I stayed back to wait for it and drove it to right center. I saw the ball's path during my first steps out of the box and knew I'd gapped it perfectly. I think the ball went to the fence, but I was running with my head down to just slide into second with a double.

Both runs scored. Game saved!! My team and the fans went nuts. I was pumped.

The next batter got out, so I didn't score. It felt great to come through in the clutch in front of most of the league's best players. I've always been respected in the league as one of the best hitters, but the pressure of the game on the line and everyone watching can make or break.

The best part of the All-Star game (I've gone to a bunch of these) is being on the same team as people you face during the regular season. It's a good feeling when everyone gets on the same page to motivate their opponents to succeed. It's great to get that respect, return it, and make friends to even trade numbers to hang out.

On the contrary to my rising to the call above, I also represented my team in the home run derby before the game and let the pressure get to me. Everyone circled around me with their phones out watching got me off my game. I didn't wait for the right low and in pitches to pull to left field. That's my hot zone. Instead, I got too anxious to impress (like most of the other participants), and didn't get to the second round.

My ASG Plate Appearances: (2 for 4 with 2 RBI)

  • Hard ground out right to third base
  • Strikeout.
  • Opposite field single to right
  • 2 RBI double to right center

I played second base for 6 innings, pitched one, and caught two. I made at least 5 solid outs at second base and one error on a difficult play. The ball was hit very sharply to my right and it hit the heel of my glove on a tricky hop. I made up for that over and over though.

My Fall season started yesterday and I did really well to impress a lot of new teammates and people I played against all Spring/Summer. I'll post on this later.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

good work brother! I'm sure you did whatever you had to do! <3 :)

What a fun season for you and us. So many things you did paid off. You are a teacher by example for those who listen. I enjoyed your journey it brought back memories. Congratulations! Until next season...your fan...me.

Thanks! I just started a Fall season with a new team for 14 games (7 weekends before playoffs). We just played the first 2, so I'll have some more baseball to post on over the next couple of weeks. I don't have many fans, so it's very much appreciated. My sister lives in France, and my brother has never been a game since high school. After high school, my parents have only been to 2 games. My exes have only been to 3 games at most. My immediate friends have come to 2 games tops. Pretty lousy support.

It might be one of those sports most people like to play but not watch. Do they know how good you are?

Did you want us to see the video or you wearing STEEM in your thumbnail picture? :D

Both, but the video like just a little more. The video would've had a lousy fuzzy thumbnail instead of me looking like a gnome next to a giant, but maybe that'd have been better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05