A Joker review (from a person who doesn't like Joaquin Phoenix)

in #batman5 years ago

This Friday, I got the chance to go to the cinema again. There wasn't so much to watch, but Joker had just gotten to my local cinema. As a result, I ended up watching Joker. I had read lots of awesome reviews of the movie, and especially reviews that dealt with Joaquin Phoenix in his role as the Joker. Well, I strongly dislike the guy, and even though I know he is a good actor, I never really enjoyed the movies in which he played.

I remember 18 months ago, I got a chance to watch You Were Never Really Here in the cinema before it was actually released. I suffered myself through the movie, and I was totally incapable of enjoying the movie, nor the acting of Joaquin Phoenix.

In other words, I didn't really look forward to watching Jokes as well... but there weren't other movies worth watching, so I decided to give it a chance.

I admire the one who wrote the story!

After watching the movie, I felt as if this was to the Batman movies, what Star Wars: Rogue One was to the Star Wars universe. It was a story that completed the stories we already know, without bugging or making any serious changes to them.

Before I went, I had also heard rumors about this movie being without Batman. Could it be so? Well, yeah - simply because this isn't a movie about Batman, it is about Joker, his childhood, and how he grew into becoming the person we have seen in so many other movies already, portrayed by Jack Nicholsen and Heath Ledger. And, for some reason, the role of the Joker seems to require a lot from the actors, and Heath Ledger actually got an Oscar for the way he interpreted and played the character.

But, what about Joaquin Phoenix, a guy I do not like at all?

The movie is all about Joaquin Phoenix

I admired the ones who wrote the story, but the movie is all about Joker. There are few other actors actually playing an important role in the movie. One could say that Robert de Niro has an important role, but he doesn't really get that much screentime either. It is all about Joker.

And believe me or not... even though I strongly dislike Joaquin Phoenix, I cannot do anything else but to give him an Oscar for his role as the Joker. It was incredible, and the way he played the role made me simply admire him for his job. As he dances around, starts to laugh, stops laughing, tells a joke, feels sorry for himself, speaks about his own sorrows and feelings... it is just simply a masterpiece!

To be honest, I can't remember any single movie I have seen in which I have felt the same way about an actor as I did about Joaquin Phoenix in the Joker... he was stunning.

I didn't like it when Leonardi di Caprio got an Oscar for his role in The Revenant. It felt to me as if he got it, simply because he had failed at getting an Oscar so often before. I have my doubts about whether Heath Ledger would have gotten the Oscar for his role as the Joker if it hadn't been for his tragic death some months before the Oscars.

But this time, if Joaquin Phoenix doesn't receive an Oscar for this, I guess nobody would really ever deserve such a statue.

Joker conclusion

This is a masterpiece, not only because of Joaquin Phoenix but also because the story gives so much support to what we already know about Gotham city and what is to come...

Is it brutal? Well, probably/maybe... but I simply enjoyed the acting so much that I didn't really give it much thought...


Do you like this review? Make sure to follow me for more movie-related articles and TV-related articles in the future. Do not forget that you can find more similar articles and content at https://www.ipaddressguide.org/.

Sort:  

well i liked the film for the most part. It was interesting to see them take an almost completely non super-hero approach to it all. I do have to admit that I was quite bored at times though and wouldn't go see it again even if it was free.

By the way, i totally agree with you about Leo's Oscar in Revenant.

I really liked the non-super-hero approach to the story as well! I was scared as I watched the first 2 minutes of the movie (looking at Phoenix making strange faces in front of the mirror or what it was), but then I was so enticed by the story... that even though I hate watching movies twice, I could actually imagine watching in once more, simply because of the beauty of the acting of Joaquin.

Can't understand why you don't like him. Have you seen "Walk the Line" it's great!

I guess it all started with his role in Gladiator... It was brilliant as well, but so much hated his figure, that I guess I had a hard time ever liking the guy again after that. But, I guess only a brilliant actor can play his role so well that you end up disliking the guy strongly afterward because of the way he played his role!

Hehe! I Know.

I still dislike a Norwegian female actress that cheeted on a nice guy with his father in a movie :-) (NB! Not R rated)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Your content has been curated from TripleA the Movie and TV Show community on the Steem Blockchain.
Have a look at our latest Curation project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78