Ode to the Beat Generation - The Ride

in #beatgeneration6 years ago (edited)


I found the Beat Generation poets at a vulnerable time of my youth when I needed them more than I knew. They came to be as friends and mentors and they would change the way I view the world, literature, poetry and writing for the rest of my life and they were an inspiration to me to always try to respect and grow my craft. Now, I have not always been a good disciple of them and I have often let life get in the way of a creative path. Yet they were always waiting within the tattered pages of my dusty books to encourage me on.

My Beat Generation Initiation


My first interaction with the Beat Generation was due to an amazing teacher and mentor that took pity on my fumbling creativity and offered me a reprieve from my youthful frustrations of trying to "force" a piece. He lent me a copy of On the Road by Jack Kerouac and from the turn of the first page I was absolutely, irrevocably hooked. It was as if I had bitten down on a firecracker and my consciousness was exploded to the far reaches of the universe.

Although Kerouac was my first introduction to the Beat Generation movement, he was quickly followed by Allen Ginsberg, William S. Burroughs, and Gregory Corso. These gods among mortals so generously shared their knowledge and talent with me and I was like a parched dog lapping it up on my hands and knees.

 

The Treasure Hunt


This, of course, was a time before clicking and adding to cart technology existed and many of my afternoons and weekends were saturated with hours of me digging though dust used book stores, library index cards(dating myself, huh?), and occasionally finding a mainstream article or book at a retail bookstore. Many years later, I would find a first edition of On the Road at a north Georgia antique bookstore and would have cut of my left arm if it would have raised the exorbitant amount of money to buy this treasure. These searches gave me direction and purpose at a time where I could have been doing much, much worse if left to my own devices.

Once found, I would pour through the pages attempting to glean every ounce of knowledge and beauty from each word and phrase. The cadence and creativity of their work moved me in a way that I had never experience and I began to understand the power of the written word. They are are instrumental in facilitating my life-long love affair with the written word and I owe them a debt that can never be repaid.

I do not own the rights to this video, but I actually found this video on an old VHS cassette at a library and it was the second time I heard Jack Keroac's voice and the first time I had seen him as he was reading his own work. It moved me beyond what words I posses to describe. Anyone who listens to this and is not moved on a spiritual, creative level would surprise me.

 

My Inspired Piece


The inspiration for this post was due to a previous original poem that I uploaded and one of my friends mentioned it was from my "beat" period. This caused me to take pause and look closer at the poem I had written and he was right. I could definitely see where the influences of my literary heroes had shaped the piece. He is a new piece specifically written by opening myself up to their influences on me and my life:

 

beat generation writing literature blog blogging
Image Courtesy Pixabay

 

Those Dells, those bells, those cells, running through those holy hells!

The asphalt uncoiled, unrolled as we chase that elusive setting sun West! It fights us and races on trying to blind us with it’s radiant glory.

Burning the image of it’s soul through our retina and imprinting on our crafty reptilian brain.

So we speed on, speed on towards that shadowed horizon and to our destiny on this globe spinning.

The rust bucket, second-hand crown vic screaming in rebellion against our odyssey, spewing forth foamy mouthed pain and fumes that tickle the back of our dusty throats. Pretending we were barrelling across West Virginia in a Cadillac like the crazy-eyed Sir Williams did on his fateful midnight ride.

The skip-jacked cassette player with only Linda Ronstadt to croon us into our oblivion, over and over and over and over again we are forced dream of Blue Bayou and we, through no fault of our own, begin to despise it and secretly snicker as the tape thins and slows in the ancient time machine of pain, distorting her to a growling demon after our very souls.

Practicing what we hear, practicing what we preach, we walk the walk of our beloved poets towards the westeward Mecca of San Fran and the Big Sur, loaded with pipe dreams and lukewarm Pepsi and peanuts, but we’ll never get there, you and I.

Our fate lay somewhere, someWHEN else. Our tired ol’ chariot would betray us on some dark desolate stretch and, penniless tail-tucked defeat would consume us and distance us like no other force of nature could.

This ride was a good ride, our cause a noble cause, our youth wasted on things youth should be wasted on….each other.

 

Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings. Have you ever read any of the Beat Generation? If so, what piece moved you the most? What other literary figure has influenced you?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/07/14/ode-to-the-beat-generation-the-ride/


Images courtesy Pixabay, video courtesy of YouTube

All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

What a wonderful clip of Jack! If only he had done an audio book! My guess is that the poet in him had every word, of even his proses, committed to memory. His gestures of god pointing at him and darkness falling seem to verify that point.

Love your piece as well, Papa. You took me 40 or more years into my past with the line....

The skip-jacked cassette player with only Linda Ronstadt to croon us into our oblivion, over and over and over and over again...

It was around 1975. Somewhat stuck in Spain because of a stolen passport. Coincidentally the post office was on strike back in the Confederation of Canuckistan so it was over a month to get my birth certificate and other needed docs sent to me in order to have a new passport issued.

We were broke and amphetamine was our main staple diet, interspersed with the occational mortadella meat sandwitch.

We were staying in an empty three room (and three floor) spanish home in Valencia. A friend serving time in a French jail had offered it to us.

My ever present guitar was with me to help pass the time (which you have much more of with consistent amphetamine use) and you would find me most of the time jamming along with the three cassettes to our name; John Denver, Queen and Jimi Hendrix.

Needless to say my guitar style took a diverse turn after that stay. 😎

This is my favorite single piece of media! There is something so very powerful about how he slips back into the moment as he reads it to us. I also love the hand gestures and facial expressions. I remember about 20 years ago I bought someone a cd box set of Jack reading his work. I NEED to find that and buy it for myself.

It's funny how much time can be expanded or contracted depending upon the choice of ingestion! lol

with the three cassettes to our name; John Denver, Queen and Jimi Hendrix.

Two out of three ain't bad! lol I can imagine quite the eclectic playing style emerged.

I bought someone a cd box set of Jack reading his work.

That would be awesome!

Wow! This is totally awesome @papacrusher! The visual picture that you painted was way more than real! It had me driving right along with you! Well done my friend!

Thanks buddy! I really appreciate the compliments and your support!

This is a fantastic article @papacrusher I can really feel how the beat poets influenced you through your commentary and poem

The skip-jacked cassette player with only Linda Ronstadt to croon us into our oblivion, over and over and over and over again we are forced dream of Blue Bayou and we, through no fault of our own, begin to despise it and secretly snicker as the tape thins

I loved the flow of this section and just the over all feel of it. I was born too late as have many 60's influences which bleed into my writing. Whether it be the lucid dream-like flowing imagery of Jim Morrison's lyrics or that feeling of freedom and wander lust that Kerouac inspires. I remember being blown away by 'On the Road' but also 'The Dharma Bums' by Kerouac, that book makes me want to climb mountains even thinking about it.

Great post, glad I stumbled across it :-)

First, thank you for the thoughtful comment and compliments.

Second, I feel the same way about being born too late for several time periods..lol. Jim Morrison was a huge influence on me as well not only for his lyrics(which were phenomenal) but also for his poetry. The twisted anguish he saw and was able to translate to paper is sheer magic!

The Dharma Bums was the second "beat" piece I read and I was like, "Everything I know is a LIE!!"...lol It made me really want to get out and see what was really happening in the world. Their writings is the main driving force for me travelling and making non-traditional choices right after high school.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a meaningful comment!

Jim Morrison was a huge influence on me as well not only for his lyrics(which were phenomenal) but also for his poetry.

Yeah, I know right? Have you heard a reading he does of a poem called 'The Severed Garden' I feel like Jim Morrison really found a pure expression of the fierce wonder of both the dark and light side of the human psyche. I guess this is what will happen if you experiment with the prodigious levels of psychedelics that Jim did. Check out the reading:

My favorite lines:

They are waiting to take us into
The severed garden
Do you know how pale and wanton/thrillful
Comes death on a strange hour?
Unannounced, unplanned for
Like a scaring over-friendly guest you’ve
Brought to bed

I had heard it previously, but how great to be reminded of his gift.

He was truly on a level few will ever see. I think the psychedelics pried open some of his inhibitions, but that kind of kinship with the written word has got to be rooted in at the genetic level! Lol

Hi papacrusher,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is so awesome. It is extremely humbling to be recognized by @curie. The authors you feature are top notch and I am honored to be recognized by you.

The first line of the poem reminds me of Poe. But I really like stanza:

Practicing what we hear, practicing what we preach, we walk the walk of our beloved poets towards the westeward Mecca of San Fran and the Big Sur, loaded with pipe dreams and lukewarm Pepsi and peanuts, but we’ll never get there, you and I.

#steemitbloggers

Ahhhhh, Poe! To be able to experience the privileged of kicking around that brain for a few decades! He was another major influence on me much sooner than when the Beats found me.

Thank you for the compliment and support. That stanza was one of my favorites of the piece as well. I can still remember the taste putting salted peanuts into a glass bottle of Pepsi(taught to me by my father).

Howdy sir papacrusher! whoa..what an amazing post sir! I've never even heard the term "beat" generation but I got what it is after reading this and watching that video. I'd never heard writing like that before either but wouldn't mind getting that book and some of the other authors mentioned.

I remember when Linda Ronstadt's song was out, ha! Your poem is super cool and powerful too!
Great job sir, this is a wonderful post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99