Beautiful Sunday, Sublimely So!

in #beautifulsunday5 years ago (edited)


Oh, beauty! Did you ever open your eyes to the morning light and instinctively know it was going to be a great day? The weather could not have been any more perfect for November, the bonus hour we gained from falling back made it even sweeter! This part of the country subscribes to the Spring forward, Fall back with our clocks. I will admit it, I have such a love/hate relationship with Autumn. It is with great love that I say this for today is autumn, however, soon, winter will be upon me. But, that is a story for me to worry about another day. Today is my #BeautifulSunday hosted by @ace108. You can read his post here.

I set out on a hike through the Shenandoah Valley, the earthy smell of leaves subdued by apple, the sweetness of the decomposing fruit permeating the air. Did I already say the weather could not have been any more perfect today? It looked cold out, but the sun gently touched my face, caressing my cheeks with her warmth. The leaves crunched under my feet as I made my way to a vantage point, looking down upon the valley. The beauty of the colors, the smells mingling together, the farms and the autumn, creating a unique emotional response from my soul.

Beautiful Sunday.jpg


The enigmatic peak of the colorful glory in the Shenandoah National Park has come - and some of it is already gone. Some have faded or taken to blowing the way of the wind, gently cascading on the mountaintops, but, it was still worthy of another look-see. Soon, we will hear old winter's song, but, just for the moment, the hills are alive with color.


IMG_0923.JPG


Oh, to dance to the rhythm of the wind. Leaves swaying in the breeze. It speaks of days ahead, yet there is no warmth in her words.


IMG_0904.JPG


The leaves are backlit by the afternoon sun. A brilliant shade of beautiful.


Ribbet collage 2.jpg


It's raining sunshine on this beautiful Autumn moment, the day is dripping in living color.



At the last moment, I decided to go have coffee with my dad, so, I picked up a verboten Starbucks Skinny Latte and started meandering through Arlington Cemetery, weaving my way through the canopy of oaks crisscrossing the roadway. The trees have started to let go of some leaves, the rain was torrential last night, but, there are no tell-tale signs of it today, save for the few leaves blowing around. The beauty of this moment does not escape me. Coffee and a tête-à-tête with my dad, I would say that makes it a #SublimeSunday hosted by @c0ff33a. You can read his post here.


Arlington Cemetery.jpg


I can see the leaves blowing to the ground, reminding me that Mother Nature’s cycles are mirrored in our lives. Autumn is a time for letting go. Releasing all those things that have been a burden.



I am out of words, yet my mind never stops. I turn in place and am taken yet again by the magnitude of this place, Arlington Cemetery. It overwhelms me, yet draws me close each and every time.


Cannon fire boomed across the cemetery, shattering the peace of the moment — at Arlington National Cemetery.



"Planted firmly on the high pinnacle of American faith, the gently fluttering folds are an inspiration of things that can be"



Thank you for stopping by and sharing my #BeautifulSunday and #SublimeSunday with a side of a #Funkyedit. Have a wonderful week ahead!


They want to be picked. They yearn to be loved. Shouldn't we all want to be? There must be a flower. Always a flower. A little bit of a #funkyedit by @krazypoet


¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥




So, stop, have a glass of refreshments and let us take in the rest of the day's glory while we can. Today was a most beautiful day, filled with sunshine and happiness - with a side of sublime. Happy #BeautifulSunday! Sublimely so!


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram


Sort:  

Wow!!!!!!! I'm super impressed with your photography! So vibrant and alive--amazing capture of Autumn. Feeling the beauty of this day with you and super grateful to have been a part of your world.

Thank you so much for those kind words! Autumn is an incredible time to be free to wander amount natures beauty.

Thank you for the visit and for the words, you have an amazing command of them. I hope you have a most wonderful Tuesday!

Totally worth it @daveks!

Thank you @everlove! Thank you so much!

Thank you! You humble me!

Oh my, talk about a view from the top pic! WOW!!! You had it just right, with plenty of colors and the lighting to make them POP like crazy!

I am happy you got to spend some time having a coffee and a chat with your dad. He was beyond a great man from what I have learned about him. I am sure he was more than pleased with your company.

There is a typo, Ill send on Messenger.

Thank you! The view from so many places there is pretty incredible. I think because the overlook shows off so many farming communities, a look that I truly love.

Yes, my dad was pretty quiet yesterday. :)

Autumn is such a wondrous time, the only burden is that it will eventually turn into winter. Old man winter was too kind last year. That must mean this year will be a harsh one. Well, time will tell. Right?

Tip!

Stunning photo of Shenandoah National Park , the vibrant autumnal colours are a true delight.

Loving the #Uptree photos, this could become a new tag - I really just don't know why but looking up the trunk of a tree is just so different - you don't normally see a tree that why and it actually makes for a very unique photo.

Thank you so much for sharing my post link, you are always to kind to me. And the funky edit to finish - so superb crazy pop art of a flower I love it!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Oh, yes! I like that tag! Looking up has always been such a thing with me. I always feel like you are missing out if you don't. It does make for a very unique point of view.

I love sharing your link, you are very generous and kind to everyone and it makes it a pleasure to be able to do something for you. Hehe That was my very first #FunkyEdit! :)

!tip

Hi @c0ff33a! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Wow what a great set of photos Denise. That first one is out of this world beautiful and I just had to resteem it.
We have Remembrance Sunday on the 11th of November. It is always a time to remember our good fortune because of their sacrifice.

Thank you, Michael @molometer I appreciate the upvote and resteem!

Sunday is also our Remembrance Day or Veterans Day also. I didn't realize that we have the same day. I hope you have a most wonderful day!

Beautiful SUNDAY my friend, love the flower indeed... the fall season brings such lovely color... be well and stay awesome

Posted using Partiko Android

I try to slip in the #funkyedits when I can. It can be a little tricky with some of the subjects, but, @c0ff33a makes it easy to do with his random posting on Sunday! Hope all is well with you and have a fabulous week ahead!

Tip!

Oh yea did quite the nice job indeed, I always enjoy seeing everyone's Sunday post now with a touch of something fun and funky in the mix... anytime is a good time. Be well my dear

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @krazypoet! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of November 5 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Thank you so much! You guys are so nice to me!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Absolutely stunning Denisse, I love it there as well, there has never been anything that humbled me more than that cemetery. It takes your breath away with the falling leaves, like fallen soldiers from days gone by.

You know, I absolutely agree. I go there on a regular basis as it is not too far from me and it still humbles me. After all this time.

I like that analogy, I have to admit. Falling leaves are like fallen soldiers. Exactly! Thanks for stopping by and I hope that you have an amazing week ahead!

Well Denise, @dswigle, what to do? If I say what I think about your post it seems that I want to flatter you. I want!
I have to say ... it's wonderful. Structural and visual. Wonderful photos!
A question: In Arlington cemetery are buried only military(and politicians, I think John Kennedy)?

Hi, Dan! @bluemoon Thank you so much for the words. You are always so kind with them.

As for your question? In Arlington cemetery are buried only military(and politicians, I think John Kennedy)? The answer is yes, it is a military cemetery and politicians are not buried there. John F. Kennedy was a politician and president, but, he also was in the Navy and piloted a boat PT109 , to be exact which was wrecked and he is honored with saving many lives during that time, so he is a war hero. There were a couple of others, but, they too served in the military. (Normally they must retire or be a war hero.

I hope that answers your question without too much confusion.

Thank you! That's what I thought.

:) I hope you have a most excellent night!

Thank you! It's 2 am, hope for a good night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76