LADYBUGS & WATER HEMLOCK FOR BEAUTIFUL SUNDAY ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

in #beautifulsunday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Steemians,

Autumn is here, however, I don't have any new photos yet, because most of the days are very gloomy and rainy. We don't even have many trees turned color yet, but I am hopping that next couple of week the weather will improve and I will be able to capture the beauty of October.

In the mean time, I am sharing with you photos I took back in August in CREDIT VALLEY CONSERVATION AREA when I took many other photos that I already shared with you back then. I saved these few and I planned to post them sooner, however, the HF20 got in a way. Nevertheless, no big deal, I am just glad that everything is back to normal now, so here are my ladybugs 2018.

01.jpg

The whole summer I was not able to find any of these cute polka dot bugs anywhere. I have collection of them from previous years, but this time I started to worry that I may not capture any this year, so you can imagine how happy I was when I came across to this tall water hemlock also called CICUTA with not just one ladybug, but many.

5.jpg

I tried to capture at least two together in one image, but no luck there. They just kept running up and down the plant without any interest in posing for me whatsoever; quite the opposite, lol. I think they were actually running away from my, so I am just glad they did not fly away.

4.jpg

I guess they really must like this plant, although highly poisonous, which by the way, I did not know at the time I was photographing it. I only found out recently when I was searching for it's name on Google. The flowers are quite beautiful and the scent is amazing, so I am glad I was not tempted to touch it.

3.jpg

I also photographed two Monarchs enjoying the sweetness of those flowers for a while, so obviously, there must be something about it they really like and it's not harmful to them, only to humans and animals. Well apparently the time when the toxicity is strongest is at spring and the most toxic part is it's roots. So if you ever come across this white beauty, admire it, but do not touch it.

2.jpg

1.jpg

6.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my little polka dot friends for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a.

THANK YOU FOR VISITING Lena's Photography
PHOTOS TAKEN WITH CANON ELPH 300
Collage.jpg

Sort: ย 

Beautiful captures!

Thank you so much Dear Violet ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

I always get such a kick out of lady bugs. Their little spots and hard round shell, so cute. Beautiful pictures dear Lena! I hope the rain stops soon and you are able to capture the lovely fall colors! :)

Oh yes me too, they are really something, lol. We have another gloomy day, no rain, just dark sky. Oh well! But thank you so much my Dear, you always put smile on my face ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

Amazing shots, Lena! So beautiful to see on a dreary day here!

Thank you so much Dear Icy...........we are having another gloomy day too!

Perhaps the ladybug uses it like perfume to deter predators who smell the poison? Lovely photos Lena. I look forward to your autumn photography. That striking shades of orange is my favourite time of year

That is very possible Tracey and thank thank you so much. I'll do my best to capture some beautiful Autumn photos for sure ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

All your photos are beautiful Lena! I don't believe you are capable of a bad shot

How delicate and soft are this nature scenes my dear ! ^_^ Yes, it's a luck you didn't touch this poisonous beautiful plant ...do you remember its name if Google gave it to you..?

Thank you so much my Dear Barbara I am glad you like it. The plant's name is Water Hemlock or Cicuta. I linked the name in my post to Wikipedia, so you can read about it in more detail if you like ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

Nice shots ... its been awhile since I seen one.

Thank you so much ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

No fall colours yet but I guess the ladybird sort of make up for it.

Thank you so much my Friend; hopefully next weekend I am going to have some fall colors for you ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

You're welcome

howdy there lenasveganliving! whoa, I didn't know you were also a professional photographer! The photos show it, my gosh they're freaking gorgeous! lol. Superb quality. We have seen very few Lady Bugs here this year as well, perhaps they are on strike this season.
At any rate this is a wonderful post!

Howdy, Janton and thank you so much for another big compliment! Although, I am not a professional photographer and I don't even have a professional camera I love photography, especially macro.

oh..sorry I thought you were. Well your photographs and their quality look professional to me so you faked me out! lol.
The macro is so fascinating!
Do you ever watch The Simpsons or are you familiar with that animated tv show?

Thank you again Janton; I have a few Steemit friends who professional photographers and I am learning from them.

Nevertheless, Simpsons are not my cop of tea; I prefer Big Bang Theory, but now I have to get going and start commenting on #fruitsandveggiesmonday entries. Talk later my Friend ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒธ

howdy again lenasveganliving! Don't worry you don't need to respond to this but I was asking about the Simpsons just to see if you were familiar with Homer Simpson because he has this thing for donuts and in that way we are the same! lol.

No, I never watch that show either but I was wondering if there is such a thing as healthy donuts and in delish treats' post the other day they visited a vegan donut bakery! wow! my dream has come true! lol.

Ohhhh, I see! Well, I did not make vegan donuts yet and also vegan does not mean healthy. However, there is a way to make delicious, healthy vegan donuts and I found a recipe for you, if you are up to it.

In general, the key for healthy desserts is not to use refined sugar, but to use natural sugar such as, dates, maple syrup, raw coconut sugar, coconut nectar or rice syrup. Instead of butter, use virgin coconut oil and coconut cream. And of course, no frying for donuts, but baking instead. Anyway, this the recipe. But now I really have to go, lol.

Beautiful macro shots of the ladybugs :)

Thank you so much Keith, your compliment means a lot ๐Ÿ˜Š

I did wonder where the Ladybirds had been hiding this year, nowhere in sight for me anyway.

You have captured some wonderful photos here though, despite the bugs trying to run away! Autumn is well on the way for us in the UK, although we have had a lovely sunny day today.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

You know, it's very interesting that I've seen some more now in October. Nevertheless, thank you so much and by the way, I have finally some autumn photos too. I will share them on Sunday ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83