Bedtime Facts (184/365)

There is only one time zone in China

The People's Republic of China with the province of Xinjiang colored red

Image Credit

There is only one time zone in China but geographically there could be five. Historically China had five time zones but the communist party decided that all of China should be in Beijing time in 1949. In Xinjiang, however, provincial time and Beijing time are used in parallel necessitating conversions in communications between the Han Chinese and the local ethnic Uighur majority.

The 1947 time zone map of the Republic of China

Image Credit

Source

Sort:  

I think that's the sales pitch............. creating drones out of humans - since communism

China is a vast country, right...they having only one time zone is I guess to enhance unity..

Maybe it was easier to control their people. If their leader is giving a speech it would be easier to get the whole country listening if all on the same time. There has to be a reason for why they did this.I can see it simplifying life in China but it also sets them apart from the rest of the world in some ways.

The communists and their eccentricities, or I should say whims!

It is strange to know that. I'm very honest, I did not know. I think that a country as big as a pussycat should have, according to my opinion, about four time zones. The things that one finds out about the communists, well it is not surprising. Here in Venezuela these 20 years of communist government they have changed the Time Zone twice, but it has not benefited anyone.

I remember read that time zones was created due to railroads and telegraph line because now you could be on the other side of the country almost the same day plus the messages moved faster than the earth turning and I guess that +12 and -12 because the day has 24 hours.

By the way I read now that you mention this, a proposal from two guys to destroy the whole system because it became obsolete for internet, so maybe China had a vision of the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24