B E E F

in #beef5 years ago


(click to watch video)

In this video...

I want to tell you my opinion about beef on the steem blockchain and in general.

  • Problems
  • Reasons
  • Solutions

Please don't take it personally!


Thanks for watching!

music: https://epidemicsound.com


@tibfox.gif

You are free to use every content of this post!

But please mention my channel in your post ;)




▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I really liked this. I don't think all people will ever be able to see past their own ideals for the world -- They see the principals they hold as absolute, and sometimes they are given the tools to act in really rash ways, without always knowing what they are really becoming while seeking out these principals. Like what Harvey Dent said in THA MOVIE : "You either die a hero -- Or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain."

Obviously no one is dying here (I hope :<), but the quote I think can also come close to this next thought that really expands on it for other situations : If we are not careful, if we are not humble, if we do not hold empathy high up like you said and if we do not tame ourselves from our emotions and try to direct our energies to solving the things we are about where they matter, then we will instead destroy everything around us as we just rampage aimlessly with what we are given, wondering why in the end all we got out of it was a bunch of grief, hate and stress.

It can be the hardest thing in the world to be the bigger person. Sometimes it seems downright unfair, that people around us are allowed to do what they do in ignorance, carelessness, and maliciousness. But I personally think if we do not represent every ounce of a person we want to see fill the world, in all our actions, and in understanding also all their possible consequences, then we have no right to ever complain or make a word about what this world SHOULD be, or how people SHOULD be. If we want people to be fair, kind and good, then we must also be fair, kind and good.

Cheers @tibfox :) It was a wonderful video.

Ohhhh thank you for this long and detailed comment full of long long philosophical sentences :) I enjoyed reading it and unfortunately / fortunately I have nothing to add :D

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about this down. I really really appreciate this effort and your engagement to share your words about that topic.

If we want people to be fair, kind and good, then we must also be fair, kind and good.
True. True. True.

Thank you for your kind words about the video too :) That warmed my heart!

You are most welcome tibfox :> I am glad the thoughts I shared meant a lot to you. Keep up the quest to keep this place positive, supportive and welcoming!

Well it's quite deep video for me, really I got emotional as how you compared beef with Steem Blockchain, I hope people will understand that how unhealthy this is :(

Thank you - sorry if it was too emotional for you my friend.

I hope we can change the network to have even more friendly and productive conversations. I think right now - steem is still a nice and supportive place - but there are some battles and egocentric actors here.

But we should just start by and with our own :)

You no need to say sorry bro, you are just trying to explain with a very very good example, the hope I can make that people should start understanding it

Yeah as Nathan said,, if you cant change then let it go.

Have a good day.

Posted using Partiko Android

First: Thanks for your comment and time :)

Yeah good quote but not really related to the topic in my opinion.
We can change our way to handle others feedback and we also can change how we create our feedback to others. If everyone would take care about the other side - we would have a much nicer place here.

Meh. Beef is beef. You can't avoid it, if You have 2 "leaders" with other opinions.

Yeah "bef is beef" buuut:
In my personal opinion 2 "leaders" with different opinions can lead in an super interesting and productive conversation instead of beef.

Is this a reaction to the current bull honky flagster stuff happening now?
See, what you say in your video makes perfect sense, but what is happening here in Steemit does not. Some parties can't be reasoned with because they feel their vast quantities of Steem entitles them to behave any way they want. This situation is destructive to the entire community and that is all I'll say about it for now.

Greetings!

No not just the flag war between the big whales.
I mean also beef situations of several dtubers / community leaders - some rude videos of basically one guy and more happening in the comments everywhere.

Thanks for your comment and for accepting my point of view here.
If we start with our own way to comment - we will send a brighter message to the others and perhaps change their mind to somethng with more empathy if needed.

Peace!

Aha, yeah, in the past I noticed this guy's comments getting flagged for comment spam. I looked up some of his posts and it turned out he was some Asian guy who didn't speak English and was using the only words he knew to express appreciation. He was also using the same bad English comment to react to English comments on his own posts.

Something I might do in German, ich spreche kein Deutsch, nur ein bitchen platduuts/nedersassiesch. Schöne grusse!

Envy - Is good as long as someone see other person to motivate themselves to become a better person.

We're all humans but unique in every single way.

It's really really hard to please everybody and let's do the right thing whenever possible.
Let's share why we do what we do.
Let's create a good culture

download.jpeg

download (1).jpeg

Yeah envy could result in something positive in some cases.
In general "envy" is resulting in the oposite direction and in hate / war / death.

In my language there is a biiiiig difference between "envy" and "inspiration" :P

Thanks for your time to watch and comment my friend :)

I think you're right, envy can be a big part of beefs and even more so on steem due to the direct monetary element involved. Anyone can see how much a post is valued etc, and they react based on their own perceived value, or when they compare what they have done to that other persons efforts. A big 'steem' problem can be that new users especially don't see the amount of time that person they're 'hating on' has put in a huge amount of time networking and producing to get to that trusted stage where they are rewarded.

Politics are a big part of it as well, I think. I am highly wary of getting involved with the political maneuvering on steem and to an extent this has worked against me in my networking over the last 16 months I've been here. The truth is, that steem is a group of tribes. Some people are in one or two, some are in many and a lot of people will get drawn into 'beefs' because of the political maneuverings of the heads of said tribes.

I try not to get involved in the politics as it 100% depresses me and I can't be doing with it in my life. Compassion, empathy and tolerance/love are the answers. You've hit the nail on the head. People can call me a hippie all day long for saying it but that doesn't make it any less true.

Ha ha, and after that epic comment @tibfox, I must admit I'm not sure which beef you're talking about, and that doesn't matter as what you've said can apply to all beefs. I think you've got the right attitude 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28