Homebrew Amber IPA Beer Review

in #beer6 years ago

A month ago I bottled a very simple homebrew Amber IPA beer that I brewed and last night I cracked open a bottle and thought it would be fun to review my own beer. I realise I made it, so I am going to be biased but let's do it anyway.

beer-fallback-bottle-and-glass.jpg

I bottle all of my beers in the cheap and versatile Coopers plastic brewing bottles. Unlike glass, these bottles don't have a tendency to explode and send glass fragments everywhere.

Appearance

As you can see, the beer pours a beautiful light-medium amber colour. It's hard to discern from the photo, the lighting wasn't 100% and the wall makes it darker, but it's a little less dark than pictured. In terms of achieving the target of the style it was going for, it hit the mark.

This was a bottle carbonated beer and carbonation might improve a little more in the coming weeks, the addition of torrefied wheat provides an exceptional head on this beer that lingers around for a very long time.

Aroma

The measure of any good pale ale and IPA is the aroma you get when you open the bottle and pour it into an IPA glass. And this IPA did not disappoint in the slightest, I dry-hopped this thing with 60g of Cascade hops and when you open it up you get punched in the face.

You smell that citrus, floral and piney flavour that you associate with a good IPA, as well as the bitterness from the hop oils that were thrown in early in the boil.

beer-close-up-head.jpg

Taste

Aroma is one thing, but the taste is what you're after in a beer. Like any good IPA, you want it to be register quite highly on the IBU scale, and this beer measures 67 IBU's, so it has a nice bitterness punch to it. You can taste the hop oils from the Columbus hops used to provide bitterness.

This beer has a delicious piney citrus taste with a nice mouthfeel, the Columbus and Cascade hops provide this beer with that classic IPA taste, nice biscuit and maltiness, with hints of resin and light sweetness.

Conclusion

This was a solid beer, nailing the style quite well. It needs a little longer in the bottle for it to develop just a tiny bit more, but it's a dangerously delicious beer. At the 6.92% mark for alcohol content, it only takes a couple of these 756ml bottles to get you happy.

Style: American IPA
Colour: Amber
ABV: 6.92%
IBU: 67

Sort:  

I wish my brews turned out this well. I'll be trying a chocolate stout soon so hopefully that goes better than my last batch. :)

Sadly, when it comes to beer I am a bit one-dimensional. I can do pale ales and IPA's. I tried to do a dark ale one time and it ended up tasting like buttered popcorn. Another time I tried doing a double chocolate stout and it got infected. I seem to have the best luck with the simple styles, haha.

When you do your chocolate stout, you should write up a post about it.

I sure will. I’m hoping to mix some espresso in with the brew as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75