Tipples Beer Review #83 - Three Greens Brewery (Aust)

in #beer6 years ago

It seems like every week there is a new craft brewery that opens in Australia, actually my brother is a economics professor who tracks these sorts of things and it is pretty much one a week at the moment, so when I opened instagram and saw that my local pub had got in some new beer that I'd never heard of I really wasn't that surprised, but I was interested in trying.

The pub in question is Bobbie Peels in North Melbourne, if you are even in Melbourne, check them out.

The Brewery is called Three Greens, I was told this was their first commercially breed batch and that it was two day old - is that true or a tale from a friendly pub owner who knows me too well and knows I'll try anything new - who knows. I can tell you that they brew at Cavalier Brewing, that they are three guys who I'm told all work for Jetstar (a budget airline here in Australia) and they have just two beers in their range at this point, both available in cans so let's go.

Sunrise Ale.jpg

Three Greens Sunrise Ale. Every micro brewery in Australia seems to start with a pale ale, it's the dominant style in here, and if you can make a good one you are on your way to being successful. This one is made with Simcoe Citra and Cascade hops and claims to be an easy drinking pale and it certainly is, almost no aroma, which is a little unusual, it has a light colour, the taste is unchallenging , but it is nicely balanced with a fruity tones, I can see this working in volume as a entry level thirst quencher.

Red IPA.jpg

The only beer is a Red IPA which is a more unusual style, so of course I want to like this straight away, Tony (The pub only) tells me this is a better beer than the Pale (I bought this second so he playing me like a violin) He's right this is a better beer, it's also a very good beer. It has more depth with a nice little malt backbone, sweet with a hint of roastiness. Balanced well with hops whilst still be very sessionable, this is a beer that tells me that these guys know how to brew, good recipe development, good quality, good end product, a good quality brew.

And as always beer saturday here: https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/yeaaahh-here-is-beersaturday-week-57

Sort:  

One brewery a week... that is insane. I love a good RED IPA. Have you had the one that Jetty Road makes?

I noticed that everybody was Brewery pale ales when it as there too. Interesting observation though. I found it difficult to find a good stout.

More Ozzie beer! Fantastic!

I am an IPA head and some of my fellow IPA guys are purists and cringe at the taste of any malt or colour.

I personally love Rye ales and wish I could sample that one. Some day.

Thanks M8!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84