It doesn’t get more local than this!

in #beer6 years ago

On my recent Holland trip from last week I came across a beer that I would never have expected to find.

Beerze Beer



20180803_152221.jpg





What makes this beer so special



Actually it is all about the location. Beerze beer is brewed in the village of Vessem in Holland. Most likely that will not ring a bell by you, but for me this is running and biking through the forests back in the kids days.



You see, Vessem is a tiny village in the South of Holland in the vicinity of Eindhoven where I used to live. So many kids from my high school came from the village of Vessem and I always felt for them, because they had to bike so far to reach our school. Vessem itself is not really a super spectacular village. According to Wikipedia Vessem has around 2100 residents and to me it doesn’t have any must-sees. That is most likely because I come from the region and when you grow up somewhere you don’t find it special. Others most likely will find different ;)

The labels always tell the story of the beer right? The back side ingredients don’t tell us too much craziness, and are low in detail on how much of what and where. I like this in local beer, don’t give away all the recipes! Keep it a bit of a mystery
I find this label stylish and it looks appealing if you would see it standing somewhere!





Where does the name come from?

Well, the Beerze is a little creek that runs in the neighborhood of Vessem. Wait, let me rephrase this. The Beerze runs through the whole South East part of the province of North Brabant, and it starts in Belgium. Everywhere where you will bike in this region, you will always find yourself crossing this creek somewhere. Don’t expect a river through! It is literally a creek! And I also can not imagine that they are taking water from this creek to use for the beer. The rivers here go to slow, at least I would never consider the water clean enough here to drink

20180803_152229.jpg


I had to laugh so hard at this label. Because literally EVERY village in this region has a place called the ‘Gouden Leeuw’, (the golden lion, lion d’or). This label states it like it is something special, but the really means nothing yet I like their pride on it!!

What about the taste?



Ow yeah, that’s in the end what beer tasting is about right? ;)
Well, if I am completely honest. I don’t recall anything specific about this beer. That is not because I was totally hammered, I know what you are thinking hahaha! Actually it was super hot in Holland and the beer was refreshing, but nothing more and nothing less. That is also nothing bad you know. I’d say, try it and judge for yourself ;)





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

' .... the beer was refreshing, but nothing more and nothing less'.

Usually after 7 or 8 they start to taste better and better ...

hahhahahahaha
Isnt that with all beers in the end!

And number 10 doesnt taste good all of a sudden half way :)

That’s so cool how local it is to you! If there was a beer that was brewed where I grew up as a kid that would instantly be my favorite beer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Right?

If you think about the region where it is brewn in all of a sudden it is so much more interesting. I truly hope these guys will go international and rule the world bringing attention to the local region!

Very good posts, keep on encouraging, good luck in steemit business

Very good posts, keep on encouraging, good luck in steemit business

Danke viel mahl!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

There you go again..... teasing me with beer. 🤤

hahahahaa, there is always room for a beer here and there man! Or at least, the SHOULD be room for a beer here and there, let me rephrase!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75