Beer Review :: Gouden Carolus Quad :: Cuvee of the Emperor

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

I am a fan of good beer. When I saw this bottle sitting on the shelf at my local Trader Joe's amidst their own knockoff beers and contract brews, I grabbed it.

It wasn't cheap, but still, a large bomber of beer like this for $8USD is not bad. That's roughly what you'd pay for a small glass of it at the bar.


Style: Belgian Quad
Color: Dark
Alc: 11%
Brewery: Brouwerij Het Anker, Belgium
Taste/Rating: Excellent. Raisiny, dark sugar, some toasted bready flavors. Very dark and full of flavorful depth.

Photos:







All in all, a great beer. Don't drink too much in one sitting though!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://negativerealm.com/beer-review-gouden-carolus-quad-cuvee-of-the-emperor/

Sort:  

Now that is what beer should look like. Reminds me of sitting just off the squares in Bruges ... the tasting notes sound great ... add some toasted nuts and you got a taker over here:)

You...have very good taste in beer.

I know ... I only like good beer ... lol:)

really like the design! and wow, 11% ...interesting... Did it taste as manly as it looks?

It tasted...very manly. In fact, I used to be female until I had my first Gouden Carolus Quad. :)

Hey that's a beer from my hometown brewery. Is it the one with the four hops? When Muxxy was visiting me last year we had dinner there and he drank one of those.

Not the four hops one; looks like they call that the 'Gouden Carolus Hopsinjoor'. I had no idea they had so many varieties of Gouden Carolus, but there are like 10 of them. This Quad I had is the only one of theirs I've tried, but it was excellent.

They all are. Even their fruity beer, Boscoli, which is way too sweet or sour from almost every other brand, is nice.

They managed to add depth of flavour and slight hints of bitterness, and a more complex flavour profile without losing the lightness of a nice summer drink.

Yes. Fruit beer is a thing over here. Mostly raspberry or sour cherry. I don't advise it unless you can get Boscoli.

So basically liquid bread, then? I’m just kidding. It sounds awesome. (Bread is cheaper, though. Just saying.) 😁

If you can find me bread at 11% alc, I'll bring my bacon, and we'll fire up my toaster and have one hell of a breakfast. :)

Ha ha ha! Great answer! Hmm... I think you’d have to soak the bread in the beer to get that effect, since it wouldn’t survive the baking process. But then we are back to square one with buying expensive beer. (Not to mention, soggy bread. Eww.) You win!

That looks good! Next time I go to the (super expensive) import shop, I'll have to look for that.

This look like quite a treat! I can respect a beer with the double champagne-like seal. Classy...
By the way you describe it, it sounds like a tasteful beer. That 11.0% is also very respectable.

Definitely a treat...definitely NOT an everyday beer :)

I do like the packaging and the cork; that's why I take photos of them too, not just the beer in the glass.

Yes, it is about the experience...
I do appreciate your beer posts. It's not a bad way to experience the places you may travel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29