Black and Blue Tart from Boxing Bear Brewing Co.

in #beer5 years ago

I admit to being one of those people who is always slightly shocked when someone shows up unannounced, although to be honest, I always (usually) end up enjoying the company.

It's even better when they come bearing gifts. Today, a friend stopped by on her way home with quite a lovely surprise, bringing me a few "crowlers" from Boxing Bear Brewing Co.

If you don't know what a crowler is, you're not alone. I didn't know what it was a few hours ago. Crowlers are unique to Boxing Bear Brewing. They are similar to growlers, but packaged in recyclable cans, and not quite as large at 32 ounces. Unlike purchasing beer at a market, this beer is canned directly from the tap at the brewery, and is as fresh as you are going to get.

The beer inside these particular crowlers was a fantastic sour beer. My tastes usually lean toward dark, stouty beers or IPAs, so I am glad that a friend brought me this beer to try, or I otherwise would not have selected it.

The Black and Blue Tart beer is actually neither color when poured into a glass. It's more of the vibrant pinkish red of raspberries, although the notes of blueberries and blackberries that give it the name, are very strong. The tartness is not overwhelming, and the flavor is actually pleasantly sour, and slightly sweet from the berries. Crisp and refreshing, this would be an excellent beer on a hot, sunny summer day, but just as great any other time too.

In the future, I think I'll be sure to order more sour beers. As long as they are anything like this one, I'm sure I'll enjoy.

Sort:  

i don't think I have ever had a sour beer, but that has a lot to do with the government banning any sort of microbrewery in Thailand. As per usual, they do this under the auspice of protecting the population from harming themselves but everyone really knows it is because the government is protecting the two major brewing companies that exist here already.

I had never heard of a crowler. I find growlers to be too big for me typically but is sounds like a crowler is somewhere between a tall boy can and a growler. Smart. That beer sounds interesting. I'm not sure if I would like it because of the tartness but I do like to try new things so maybe?

Posted using Partiko Android

I love sour beer. Portland has famous sours. Completely different than porters or IPA.

Posted using Partiko Android

Tart beer. Sounds good. The color is very different. It almost looks like cream soda or the soft drink Tahiti treat.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What amazing colour!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

You should check out BrewDog - Elvis Juice, it is a grapefruit infused IPA. I am not a fan of IPA's or Grapefruit, but I hear it is fantastic. I have a six pack of it at my house that I haven't had the time to open up and try yet. Based on what you listed though, it sounds like it could be right down your alley.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27