Beer Saturday – Crankshaft and the Food Festival.

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

We decided to go to a food festival this weekend, but it turned out not as exciting as we had thought. After 15 minutes of nosing about we were hot and feeling crowded out.

e8xkj02lf6.jpg

The market town of Clitheroe has its own castle albeit a small and decrepit looking one and they had closed the main road off for all the stalls to setup.

dj9gr3ry4q.jpg

Everyone else thought to come too, and it made for long queues and seemed to raise the temperature by around 10 degrees. It seemed everywhere that had tasty looking food, had a queue of at least 15 people.

pk89cefr51.jpg

The kids seemed to be more scared of Spiderman than interested. It must have been very hot in that suit.

8th1ayixi9.jpg

We managed to get a ‘Hog Roast’ sandwich in the end, and then some Churros which were especially good with only a queue of 10 people. They dumped a load of sugar on them when @bingbabe asked for some, I’m glad I don’t eat these everyday.

u0tp5ul5te.jpg

These cakes looked good at 3 for £5 and we got one of each of the pictured ones. I made the mistake of putting them in the fridge for a few hours and on eating the chocolate flapjack almost lost my teeth. It was more akin to eating granite.

sa45hxs4jx.jpg

Hog Roast seemed to be the flavour of the day; they must have made some money that day.

uusyx000lt.jpg

‘Shadow’ got a treat when we happened upon this ‘Dog Bakery’, and had to buy some biscuits that looked sugar coated.

u0ad5q4qyy.jpg

Of course they were not, and our dog chomped them down when we got home greedily.

vv4yhwsse8.jpg

Then I came across a beer stall, and local beer I have never heard of. I’m always one for trying strange beer and got talking to the owner.

genaafrteq.jpg

She told me they are quite a new outfit at 2 years and are based in Leyland which is not so far from where I live. They had a lot of different beers all with similar labels but looking closer distinguished them.

macf9xtua4.jpg

I chose German Hopped IPA, Lancashire Red Ale, Cloudy Wheat Beer and Lancashire Rye Ale not knowing anything about them. 4 for £11 seemed OK for something new.

r1da1nd1bl.jpg

I made a mess pouring the German Hopped IPA and was hoping for great things. The taste was more bitter than I would have imagined, and both @bingbabe and my 14 year old daughter who keeps asking me to ‘let me try’ both pulled faces after taking a swig.

czxlqo33ih.jpg

Well that meant one thing. I would have to drink it! Cheers, burp.. not bad after you get used to it. No choking in the night and heartburn makes it an approved beer for me. I’ll try another next weekend.

You can post about beer and possibly win something with the #BeerSaturday challenge run by @detlev.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Although you seems to be not that happy with that food festival, but the food items you captures looks yummy, those last few pics will light up the eyes of people who love drinks :)


Please join our growing community using this Discord link

It got better as we moved from the really crowded section and managed to eat. For a food festival it was hard to buy any due to this. The beer was interesting, I'll sample another next weekend. I'm not a big drinker!

People will always love such food festivals, so it's obvious that there will be more crowd for such things.

Nice to know beer was nice :) I use to drink beer earlier, but I felt I am getting fat because of that, so, stopped it long back ;)

Wished I would have been there with your family. so much fun to be had.
The children start school today in our city. So last weekend was the last for their fun...well kind of.. lol

The kids go back very early! Mine doesn't go back for another 3 weeks yet. How many weeks off school does they get?

It is amazing the number of small and craft breweries that are popping up here and there. We have some stores near where I live that specialize in selling equipment so you can brew your own beer at home if you want to. It is a great boom for beer drinkers!

I hope the other's are better than the first one. My expectations I think were a little high for these beers.

That will happen!

it needs some time for me to open the pictures @slobberchops, but it ok...I love to see what you are doing and where did you go on for vacation or information from different side of the world...enjoy it.

wow😊 next time😃 I go😋 to tha🍺 place😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77