St. Arnold Not a Collaboration Double Hopped Hazy IPA

in #beer6 years ago

29E5ABCC-F21B-43DE-B9A2-B91F7B9CB6CE.jpeg

I’m a big fan of British IPAs, but not of many American IPAs that try to outcompete each other on IBUs, ABVs and citrus. If I want lemonade I can buy it for much less.. and it to me it tastes better. I also never want total bitter without something to balance it out. As a result of this trend I’m usually hesitant to try American IPAs; however, I recently found a few 4 packs of St. A’s Not a Collaboration Double Dry Hopped Hazy IPA hiding in the back of the cooler section at my local discount beer and wine store. St. A’s has a lot of great beer, and I like to support local breweries, so on a whim, I picked up a pack. As you can see this beer is indeed quite hazy. The taste is very different than other IPAs. There is nice balance of citrus, hops, and malt, along with a pleasant hop aftertaste. This beer is getting ratings of around 4 out of 5 on beer advocate, largely because it is so different from other American IPAs. For me this is a positive. I find Stone IPA, which is very highly rated, to be almost undrinkable. In contrast, I rank Not a collaboration as my second favorite IPA behind Three Floyd’s Dreadnaught. Unfortunately, I cannot get Three Floyds in Texas and I don’t know how long this St. A will be available. I found nothing on their website about it.

Some have complained about the price: at $15.99 for 4 pints it is indeed pricey, but for me its on par in terms of balance with some of the Belgian imports that cost a similar amount.

If you're ever in Houston and you love beer, be sure to check out St. Arnold Brewing downtown for both the beer and food.

Todd

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

You mentioned some people complain about the price... but in the end, isn't it more or less, you get what you pay for?

I'd say that sometimes you get what you pay for. With beer there are so many styles that sometimes an expensive one may not be to your liking and at other times the prices are high just because a beer is a limited, one time release.

Congratulations @toddrjohnson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am not a big beer fan, although I do enjoy a Guinness every now and then. But enjoyed your post, something new for me to read :)

I agree with @goldendawne, You get what you pay for. A good brew is worth more to me and it will not something to get a buzz with but to enjoy with family and friends!
#steemitbloggers

A manager at a small craft beer pub in Lexington, Ky told me a few years ago that he was actually trained to be an architect, but after working in the business for so long he got tired of clients, who were spending millions of dollars on a building, but constantly complained about little things and wanted to pay him as little as possible. in contrast, at the pub he can hand someone a $6 beer and get far more appreciation back than he did as an architect.

I do like a beer with a few "clouds;" one of the reason wheat beers always appeal to me.

On the whole, though, craft beers like these tend to be on the spendy end of the spectrum. I happen to like beer, and if I find one that's really to my liking, I'll pay the premium price for it.

In my country all men love beer, especially my husband, it hurts that they can not drink them because of the high cost. hahaha Excellent article friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73