Brewdog Brewery's Dead Pony Club IPA

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Back to the tried and trusted IPA!

After branching out a bit last week with a fine Belgium beer, this week I'm back to an IPA, and although the brewery in question is too big now, to be classed as a microbrewery, they do make some outstanding beers in my opinion.

This week's beer of the week is Brewdog Brewery's Dead Pony Club IPA

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-15-51.png

What better place to try a new beer, than in the sky!

I brought some of these cans with me on a recent trip to Inis Óirr, the smallest of the Arann islands off the coast of Galway on Ireland's West coast. I flew over on a tiny prop plane that can hold about 6 to 8 people. The return ticket was around €45, which for me was great value, as just seeing the islands and Galway bay from the sky is worth the money alone.

Here are some picks. As you can see I was so close to the pilot that I could have covered his eyes with my hands..

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-16-43.png

20180721_145320.jpg

and no I didn't try this! 😆 Instead I tried one of these lovely beers...

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-34-26.png

The cabin service was limited 😆😆 so it was a good job I had my own refreshments..

The Info

Brewery: Brewdog
ABV:3.8%
OG:1040
IBU's:40
Malts:Extra Pale, Cara, Crystal
Hops:Simcoe, Citra, Mosaic
Bottle: 330ml
What they say: Dead Pony is the invigorating surf that pounds the iridescent shoreline yards from the salt-encrusted asphalt of Route 1. The hop-heavy west-coast wonderland awaits.

Dive in and the toasted malt base soon yields to a huge box-fresh hop hit, washing tropical fruit, floral garlands and spicy undertones all over your palate.

Inspired by US-Style pale ales, Dead Pony is a low amplitude, high voltage hop hit; California dreaming for the craft beer generation.

The verdict

There was no pour here ad I was drinking them from the can, as I was on the move, so I can't comment much on colour and lacing. The smell was apparant as soon as I pulled the ring pull - those hoppy citrussy notes hitting my nostrils. The taste didnt dissapoint either with a fairly smooth mouthfeel. Citrus, passionfruit and stonefruit aromas dominate, with a hint of caramel malt blended through. Definitely some pine and grapefruit pith hop bitterness, subtle caramel malts and a long, slightly bitter finish.

A session IPA for sure, and you could easily drink many of these especially on a warm sunny day.

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-16-08.png

Some pictures from the island

It is an idyllic little corner of the world with a population of just 350.

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-20-31.png

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-19-44.png

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-21-12.png

Screenshot_2018-08-08-23-41-31.png

The Grade

3.25/5

Peace out,

@ablaze

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Oh wow!! Thank you so much for the support.. Really appreciate it..

Oh wow!! Thank you so
Much for the support.. Really
Appreciate it..

                 - ablaze


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This beer sounds very interesting choice.
I myself had the chance to travel with this kind of planes, but slightly bigger. I would say about 30 people. It's a great experience.

Cheers!

Yes, I was happy with the choice.. needed something sessionable and this fit the bill nicely... This flight was for max 8 people, so a proper intimate experience! A bit too intimate!! 😛😛

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00