One of the Originals and still a great beer - Sierra Nevada Pale Ale Review

in #beersaturday5 years ago

What's up beer lovers!?

It's been a long time folks. Days, weeks, months, actually not far of a year. Life got in the way of my Steemit ways, but I'm back with a bang and looking forward to getting involved in Beer Satuyrday again with @detlev and friends.

I still see some familiar faces which is great and some new ones. For the new (well new as in, here since I vanished 7 or 8 months back), I'm an Irish beer-loving, sports-mad, surfing, golfing chilled out father of 3. Right enough about me, let's get on with the beer review.

Oh, first I'll share this pic I found here https://www.homewetbar.com/ipa-lot-personalized-funny-beer-glass-p-7045.html Thought it was pretty funny :o)

ipa.alot.pilsner.jpg

This weeks beer of the week is.....

Sierra Nevada Pale Ale

20190706_191315.jpg

Intro

The last decade or more has seen IPA and Craft beers go from strength to strength here in Ireland, and it is a trend that is seen worldwide, and has even caused the big players in beer and stout to wake up and smell the coffee. Even Diageo, Guinness's parent company now offers an IPA, such was the impact the micro breweries and not-so-micro-anymore-breweries were having on their bottom line.

Long before this IPA revolution however, a couple of guys in California called Ken Grossman and Paul Camusi were making beer in their kitchen. They were getting better and better at their trade and before long they felt their concoctions were better than any or all of the bland offerings on the beer market. With $50,000 hodged together from family loans and their savings, they took that famous plunge and moved their home brewing operation from their house to a facility in Chico, California and so was born Sierra Nevada brewing. They lads have not looked back since. That was a long time ago, before I was born in fact, way back in 1979. To me it is one of the founding fathers of Craft beers.

Review

20190706_191429.jpg

I drank my first one of these bad boys with my older brother in California back in 2001. He was living their at the time and my mates and I decided to move their for a summer while we were on holidays from University. What a summer that was, and what a beer it was too. The taste and can art have not changed much since.

20190706_191347.jpg

This one poured a nice copper orange colour with a decent sized medium head. It's a typical US West coast hazy IPA. The aromas and hoppy richness hit you as soon as you crack open the can. There was hints of pine, grapefruit, burnt orange, and a very bitter finish. It is medium bodied and as always best served cold.

To this end I stuck the glass in the freezer for 20 minutes before pouring and it was at that perfect temperature when pouring.

Check out that Icy glass

20190706_191249.jpg

What better way to enjoy a beer than on front of your favorite sport. Here I was watching my local team Galway play their last chmpionship match against Mayo - unfortunately they lost the match and their summer is now over. 2020 will be our year! Yes, I'm a glass half full type of person..

20190706_191550.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, California, United States
  • Alcohol Content: 5.6%
  • Size: 16 Fl Oz Can
  • What they say: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is a delightful example of the classic pale ale style. It has a deep amber color and a exceptionally full-bodied, complex character. The fragrant bouquet and spicy flavor are the results of the generous use of the best Cascade hops. 13.4°

    Bottle Conditioned.
  • IBUs: 38
  • Bittering Hops: Cascade
  • Finishing Hops: Cascade
  • Malts: Two-row Pale & Caramel

20190706_191423.jpg

Rating

3.5/5

Divider.png
This is a post for #BeerSaturday hosted by @detlev
I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :)

All of the photos are mine and were taken with my Samsung Galaxy A5

Peace Out

5cbff4f643a1e187_800.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post, and I agree, that the glass should be Ice Cold for the beer to taste the best!! Here is a nice !BEER token for you!! Welcome back!!

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @ablaze, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27