Beer Review - Lucky Buddha

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

You have to love cool looking unique bottles, and that is what Lucky Buddha ale comes in, maybe the coolest bottle of all time. But I can talk more about that in the Presentation section. I was perusing beers at the World Market store in Bozeman, Montana a few weeks back when we were there for my nieces wedding and they offer a limited selection of mostly imported beers in single bottles that you could build a 6 pack with. So I did find 6 beers I had not had before, which included 2 Montana beers. Lucky Buddha was one and that is the subject of todays review.

Lucky Drink Company - Lucky Buddha Beer

IMG-4400.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Lucky Drink Company (Hangzhou Quiandaohu Beer Co./Cheerday Brewery) - Hangzhou, Zhejiang China
  • Alcohol Content: 4.8% by volume
  • IBU: Not Listed
  • Company Description: Brewed and bottled at the Thousand Island Lake in China fusing the finest quality malt, hops, rice and water from this pristine region delivering an Asian style lager that is truly an enlightened brew. In a world a world that's full of change, it's good to know that Lucky Beer offers something consistently good natured. Although the distinctive laughing Buddha bottle is central to our brand, Lucky Beer - and the good fortune it shares - transcends all religions, cultural boundaries and beliefs. In its simplest form, we stand for goodwill for all humanity. "If you think that enlightenment is separate from the drinking of beer you have not yet understood" Ancient Taoist Saying.

IMG-4401.JPG
IMG-4402.JPG

Presentation
I've already talked a bit about the container, a buddha shaped green bottle about 11.2 oz in size with a distinctive red cap with the buddha on it also. The bottle has minimal adornment, a gold clear label on the front neck and white lettering on a clear back label with all the required info with a gold buddha above that. All told this is a really cool bottle, love to see this kind of thing still around. Great packaging, likely sells some beer by itself. How many of you have kept a Lucky Buddha bottle?

IMG-4403.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: A clear light golden beer with a 3 finger white foam head which dissipated rather quickly.
  • Aroma: I really didn't get much aroma from the beer on the pour.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: This is a relatively high carbonated beer with a sweet taste. It is a "standard" lager type beer, common to find in mass production beers, like say Bud Light.
  • Drinkability: A very drinkable beer, it would be a good weekend, grass cutting, bbqing, etc beer. Easy to drink several at a time.

IMG-4404.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I rated this at 2.75 on Untappd, where three friends average rating was 3.17 and overall, it has a 2.93 from 71k ratings. It is a world wide distributed beer, and made like a lot of mass produced beers, light and slightly sweet and easy drinking. I didn't mind it and would more than likely drink it again if I had the choice at a party or somewhere like that.

2.75/5

This is going to be my entry into the #beersaturday contest, so do me a solid and head over and vote for me there, which will increase my odds of winning. Thanks much. Let me know if you have had Lucky Buddha before and what you though of it! Cheers!

I almost forgot my bonus Beer 'n BBQ photo:
IMG-4408.JPG

Sort:  

Really cool beer bottle... You'd buy that for the bottle alone! :o)

Yes it’s really cool, I guess I’d not seen it before and I knew ahead of time the beer wouldn’t be anything special.

The beer really ain't that good, but I have to admit being sucked in by that bottle more than once or twice.

Me too but sometimes the beers are better than expected which is always a nice surprise!

I have a couple of the empties kicking about with candles stuck in them. Cool bottles, the beer is as you say a solid typical mass produced style lager which isn't necessarily bad

I know, right? Can you do me a solid and send me a message on discord? I can’t figure out where the messaging part of that site is

Are you bigskycustoms there too?

I had a look for that user and couldn't find it!

I am yes. I probably don’t understand how it works well enough but I am in two groups there

You must have to be in a group to be able to connect. I don't know, I ain't that good with it myself!! Hold on..

Join that one

https://discord.gg/gQy9fm

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-07T03:19:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 382.75/200.00
Total Photos: 62
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Seen it in stores for years, always wondered if it was any good! Thanks for the review!

Yeah, that bottle is pretty cool looking.

Yes, this is a damn cool bottle.

And it is imported from china.

Respect!

I would definitely keep that bottle! 🍻

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85