Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS)

in #beersaturday5 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/cryptictruth-canadian-breakfast-stout-cbs-uopjnxql-1541436057166.png

The holy grail of stouts. The one, the only Canadian Breakfast Stout (CBS) by Founders Brewing Company! This whale of beer has been brewed only a hand full of times. Now that Founders has grown It seems like this might be a regular release as they released a batch in 2017. The 2018 batch is slightly different. The opted to age the beer in American maple barrels instead of Canadian barrels. So the name is kinda misleading now.

2B3CB611-3E58-48FE-9B2A-2875D0899874.jpeg

This is the best beer I’ve ever had, but I’m torn because I think the fact that it use to be so rare makes it taste that much better. Last year’s release seemed a little bit watery compared to previous releases. Maybe that’s why they decided to switch it up and use the new barrels. Be that as it may, this beer is delicious. The color is dark and there is the rich aroma of maple, vanilla, malt, chocolate and bourbon. The flavor is rich with loads maple and bourbon. It kinda reminds you of pancakes. The mouthfeel this year is spot on. Full bodied with the perfect amount of carbonation. I can’t wait to snag a few bottles when it’s in distribution.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I don't think I have ever tried this one. I have a friend that always talks about it though. I might have to see if I can get my hands on some. Hopefully it is more available and not as expensive as HopSlam though. That stuff is ridiculous! I think I once bought a single can for $12 because it was the last one the store had. I had never had it before and I wanted to try it. Turns out I really don't care for IPA's :)

Unfortunately, it’s probably more expensive than Hopslam. I think they retail it at $24.99 for a bomber. I’m not sure if they made 12 oz bottles. Last year they only released the 12 oz bottles in Canada.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh wow, that is pretty expensive. This looks to be more in my wheelhouse than an IPA though, so it might be worth it. I really like the darker beers in the cold weather months!

It’s worth it. I’m more of a stout person to so I’ll pay up for a good one. Cold weather means stout season. Stay tune I some great stout in the cellar.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome, I will keep an eye out. The BOB in Grand Rapids makes a peanut butter stout that sounds crazy but tastes amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just can't get into good beer. It's like a meal. Although now that I think about it, you're probably not supposed to drink a thirty pack of that stuff.

No thirty packs here you would go broke. Plus the ABV is pretty high so you would be pretty buzzed. Beer has become more and more like a wine. Some is overrated and overpriced, but some is worth it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like my wine the same way I like my beer; dirt cheap and by the gallon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Boones farm in bulk then?

Even I’m not that bad. 5 liter box of Franzia. It’s my jamzia

Posted using Partiko iOS

That sounds like a good Monday night.

Right back at you! What’s you opinion on stouts?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptictruth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87