Kentucky Breakfast Stout (2017)

in #beersaturday5 years ago

So if you follow my blog you would notice that I had the 2016 Kentucky Breakfast Stout (KBS) not too long ago. So I decided to open up the beer cellar and crack open a 2017 KBS for comparison.

6EC390E8-DD46-4170-B4D4-3634A818087E.jpeg

They color is very similar to the 2016 jet black with minimal tan head. The aroma is coffee forward with a nice hint of vanilla and bourbon.

81CF8D13-1502-4595-A490-2574910B901B.jpeg

The aging process mellows out some flavors and creates what I believe to be a more well rounded beer. The 2017 vintage still has loads of coffee, chocolate, vanilla and bourbon flavors.
The coffee in my opinion is still a little strong. I like the mellow bourbon flavor with a little alcohol burn.

1CF65153-857B-452C-BB3D-946B2BEB1A63.jpeg

The aging process also makes the beer a little thicker. The mouthfeel has mild carbonation and drinks syrupy as this one get older. I actually like that thick chewy mouthfeel for this stout. Overall, I think this gets better with age. I would love to do a five year vertical in one sitting to truly see how the beer changes. When you put time between trying the different years sometimes it’s harder to remember your tasting notes.

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

That is pretty funny, I had never noticed it before until I started reading your posts, but I was in a restaurant the other day and they had a the Canadian on tap and they specifically listed the year next to it. I had never really seen that before with beers, but my attention was drawn to it because I remember you had said the one year didn't taste the same as the year before. Thanks for sharing this!

Each year is a little different. Some years ABV is higher or they use different bourbon barrels. All these subtle difference can drastically change the flavor so it’s helpful to know the vintage.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very interesting! I appreciate your insight. I still haven't tried either the CBS or the KBS yet, but they are definitely on my list.

Both are easier to find nowadays so I’m sure you’ll be able to find it. Cheers my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really like the stout taste and the aroma you describe is one of my favorite: I love coffee and cappuccino!☕
Do you think that I could find this beer also here in Italy?

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve found their beers in Australia so there is a chance they distribute to Italy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope and I will write to you if I will find them🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely do I would like to hear your review! Cheers mate.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptictruth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34