A WHOLE LOTTA BEER !!!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Last Saturday, I was able to go to a beer party. Yay!! My step-son, Yiga, works as the plant manager and so, for free beer - we went.
He works for Saint Archer Brewery. This party was their 5th year anniversary and also the release of their new beer (I'll reveal that later) Certainly, there were a lot of people there. S.A. was established as an independent craft brewery, but was then sold to Miller Coors a couple of years ago, which creates large amounts of consternation in the craft brewing community.
View from the street to the main entrance.

Imgur

Basically, they were started by a group of professional surfers and skateboarders as "session" beers - low alcohol to drink all day. Since then they have branched out to many different types of beers. Here's going in to the tasting room and the available beers.... sorry for being fuzzy.

Imgur

Imgur

My inside source at the brewery says they are still (at the moment) making beer as they did - making them craft. But they are owned by a world-dominating brewery - making them very non-independent. I was surprised by the number of people at the party. In the early afternoon, there were a lot of employees and their families there. As the afternoon wore on more people came, the bands started playing louder and more independent/hipster/partiers started arriving.

Imgur

Yeah, those are bags special items came in, not trash. And - I got a special item - a V.I.P. white wrist band that got me free beer - all I wanted!!! Absolutely worth the trip.
San Diego has a very large craft beer industry. Saint Archer still only distributes in the very southwest US - SoCal, Arizona and maybe some of Nevada. There's at least a dozen or more larger craft brewers in San Diego that are much larger (i.e. Ballast Point, AleSmith, Pizza Port and certainly Stone) than Saint Archer.
Here's just before the masses came and the stage for the bands under the banner.
And outdoor beer tanks and foodstuffs available.

Imgur
Imgur

Here's a look at the actual canning/bottling lines. I know, a shit-load of shiny steel stuff.

Imgur

Here's Yiga trying to explain it to us family "tourists." And yes, he tries to surf at least a couple of times a week.

Imgur

Oh yes, the new beer: If you look at the board with the beers, you'll notice a BlackIPA. 6.5% alc. WHAT!? I live dangerously, so I had one... (my wife kindly held it up for me)

Imgur

It tasted just like you'd guess - a decent stout with some nice hops underneath. Kinda weird, but better than I thought it would be. If I see some in Yiga's fridge, I'll steal some for another review.
It was a beautiful day. Hot. It was fun to tour the brewery and I got to taste free beer!

As always, all pictures are mine with my iPhone5 :-))
All hail #beersaturday - particularly needed during these troubling times.

Sort:  

That’s so awesome that you got a behind the scenes look at the brewery. :)

It’s a Shane that they are no longer independent. I suppose that’s the way things tend to go though.

Do you like my token upvote? From what I understand, unless it's at least three it gets rounded down. And my lowly status now only gives me a one. I tried. :-)) It was great to tour around. And all the beer...but, it was a hot day, and the lines got long, so I only had 3 for the day...walking around. And they are a small brewery, even for a craft beer. Hmmm Cheers!

Haha I’ve had to adjust my vote to a higher percentage just to make sure people actually get something from me. A 20% vote used to give people 4 cents. Now it only gives 3 cents. So I’ve increased my voting percentage to 25%.

I think you only get a payout if your post or comment receives more than 2 cents. Might be worth checking. If your voting weight is only 1 cent you’re better off focusing your votes on posts rather than comments. Especially when considering your return via curation rewards and the fact that you only get 10 full value upvotes per day without the vote slider.

Thanks for that. I guess sometimes it's just a vote to let someone know I'm thinking of them. Well, for me. And yeah, I think the posts are the only thing that works for me right now. I'll keep at it.

It is a grind, but like anything the larger your pot the faster you grow.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-13T21:56:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 52.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow! That’s cool you got to go and get the VIP treatment but I’m a bit disappointed you only had one beer? There were a bunch on the board that looked pretty darned good to me! We had a brew fest last Saturday and I sampled around 17 beers (of course only 3-4 oz pours). That’s what you do at those kind of events Dennis!

I don't think this was a cultured event. There were only 8 oz plastic cups. It would have been nice to try more. I did have the IPA, because I could only get that - the lines were really long. Then I got another BlackIPA, just to try it again, then had to go home. I know, a sad tale of hoppy/malty minimalism. Wait til next time... :-))

Wow nice choice from over 30 beers :-) 👍
Damn to much to taste them all at once. But looks like a damn cool party ✌️

It was fun. I spent a lot of time people-watching and standing in line for beer. But that is fine too.

What a day out, free beer in San Diego!! That's my kind of day out.. Loved San Diego when I visited in 2001

Feel free to come for another visit. I'll see if we can go for another tour. :-))

I've had a few saint archer beers over the journey - I think they distribute to Japan quite and bit and I even think we see them in Australia occasionally. Anyway a special wristband that get you free beer, now there is an idea.

Did you say beerparty hehe.. it does not get any better than that my bruv, nice one. Cheer$;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87