And just in my final days: I found an original Sint Martin beer!!

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

All these weeks of entering the #beersaturday competition it was with supermarket beers that I picked up. Some of them had quality, but most of them were 'its better than nothing beers'. Everywhere in the world brewing is really starting to pick up, but I didnt find so many cool Caribbean beers. Until last week!!!

Screenshot_20180509-002519.jpg

Let me start at the beginning of the story.

Two days before I am going to leave the island I am on the hunt for some beach time. We decide to go to Mullet Bay, my favorite beach of all. So many Sundays I have spent here with friends chilling, bbqing, playing ball, entertaining the dogs etc etc

It seemed more than reasonable to go to this beach one last time!

Screenshot_20180509-002859.jpg

But the way this picture looks wasnt reality. Because 10 minutes after reaching Mullet Bay it started to pour. And I dont mean a bit of rain, I mean moesson style flooding. Normally Caribbean clouds pass by fast and the sun will be out after 10 minutes

But not this day.

We waited for about 40 minutes under an umbrella including sheltering dog and then we decided to leave.

We went to a little bar called Lagoonies Bistro and ordered a beer to warm up a bit (I actually even would have preferred hot choco hahah).

And they asked us if we wanted a locally brewed beer.

Hell yeah, a local style beer.. Ive never had one before!

Screenshot_20180509-002540.jpg

Then this beauty came out all of a sudden.

The beer is called Mullet Bay. Isnt that ironic??

So after being flooded out of Mullet Bay, I get a Mullet Bay beer.

Nice taste, no aftertaste: kind of strange.

Screenshot_20180509-002607.jpg

But locally made by Pelican breweries on the island, and they also had two other flavors even. Why didnt I know this before??

Screenshot_20180509-002626.jpg

It is really handmade stuff in small batches as you can see on the label. Super nice!

For a big fat $6 I would not order this again I guess, but as the surrogate of the actual Mullet Bay they did the job proper ;))

Sort:  

Haha.... all the moving has driven you to drink! As it should be. The only sane response to moving countries. :) Real homemade boutique beers are INCREDIBLE. You are def the one to go on a bar crawl with, albeit probably more fun in Sint Martin than Switzerland. :)

I think I can agreee to that beforehand. Sint Martin is the best bar place ever, thats why it also a good idea to move away from there LoLLLLLLLL

But boutique beers. OW YES! Love them!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Untill last week!
It should be until instead of untill.

That will most likely not be the only error dude ;)))

But thx

Ein prosit fur der @jackjohanneshemp !! Ein prosit!

Hehehehehe A beer in the sea... I also found it very tacky but it is nice actually to have a sip while swimming with friends ;)

agreed I enjoy a beer while wading in the water by the shore as well

a beer during the rain on the sunny island - not a bd story.

I though theydo only rum on that island and drink "ice tea" all day.....

Well you are partially right actually!!

Rum is waaaaay more a part of the culture there than beer and I really needed to look and search before finding some good craft beers. And that with rum on every corner. its a pirate thing hahahahah

For Australian's Mullet bay suggests a bay full of people with terrible haircuts (long at the back short at the front) so this beer is amusing to me, anyway if you want to learn about mullets check this out: https://www.vice.com/en_au/article/evmq5w/glorious-photos-from-australias-mullet-festival

Super funny! When I just moved to this island years ago I always had to think about this when I went to that beach.

But over the years you forget a bit about it when the name because normal to you..
Super funny you bring it up again :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84