Sell a kidney in Zurich for a beer

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Today is my last day in Switzerland and it is time for a meetup here in Zurich.

And what better place to do that at the International beerbar.

20180609_162531.jpg

Well, one thing they always say always say about the Swiss is the salaries are high but the cost of living is also high.

I took this Wild Beer Fresh today

20180609_161944.jpg

A fresh pale ale with some citrus in it which is actually damn good with this nice city summer weather (28 celsius/ 82 F).

And they give you tabasco popcorn. That never gets old!

Screenshot_20180609-163322.jpg

What else to say about this beer? I dont really know actually! I always find it interesting that beer comes in a can in a beerbar and not in a bottle, but criticastors like @mazzle say the taste is way better preserved in cans. What can I do but believe the man!

The gasline is broken today here, so no drafts! Which is a bummer because drafts always are a bit of an extra thing I find.

Screenshot_20180609-163257.jpg

The origin of this beer is a bit strange to me.

It looks like it is from the UK, but also has German hops in there. It also says stuff about Pant 1 Kr. That means you get 1 kronor back when you return the can. And this is not in Switzerland, Germany nor the UK.

Im a bit confused now ;)

Okay I will enjoy my time here in Zurich until my friend reaches, just let me take it easy. And I have because this beer also has a nice Swiss price on it. It is 12 Franken which is also about 12 dollar. For 1 damn beer. WOW!!!!

See, I should take it easy before I have to sell my own kidney to afford my day out ;))



Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord

Sort:  

your title reminds me of Marylin Manson lyric:

You sell all the living, For more safer dead

*Rock is dead, '98

Hahaha that a classic one bro!

Wow, that is expensive for a beer! It better be good! The highest I have seen for a beer here is $3 USD.

Exactly and that I already find pricey haha!

This is crazy but those are the prices in the capital I believe. Every district there can make their own prices and has their own taxes. strange but true!

Whoa - that is a pricey beer! Take your time with it and savor the flavor as long as you can - lol!!

Hehehe I did! But people around me all found it super normal I think

Never had that beer, should give try 👍🏾

You should man! This place in general is actually awesome..such a wide variety of beers! And good atmosphere!

Wild beer wild price!

Welcome to zurich! Everything is ridiculous here!

But aren't the salaries equal for the price of living in swiss? Ok for people from outside it's indeed really expensive. It's the same in Iceland... you don't want to get drunk there 🤣

@mazzle, why is the beer better preserved in a can?

Its true. Salaries and cost of living are in range in all the departments. But if you dont live there its just damn expensive hahahah.

And I think it has to do something with that light can not come in through the glass to mess up the flavor

I feel like when you reach Chiang Mai we gotta go on a Thai craft beer tour... it's just beginning here and so many interesting tastes and ideas. :)

Yeah we really should he!!

The craft beer culture is something that I really like actually! More than wine of old buildings or anything ;)

Once I had a flyover stop at Zurich airport.
I got a single espresso and a bottle of water. I gave them a 10 euro bill.
Waited ... Waited ... Finally, they gave me back a very small, round, metal object for change ...
I think I have it somewhere ... :)

Hahahaha yeah a little tiny bit of change back. I was maybe even more surprised that you got anything back at all :D

You're right, but I wasn't prepared back then ... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82