🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Boatrocker Brewing's Banshee (Barley Wine??)🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago


I have something very special tonight!


I stopped by Boatrocker Brewing again and had a chat with one of the owners. She pointed at their Banshee Barley Wine which I'd never had before. Partly because of my lack of knowledge of this brew and it's deceptive name. A beer called wine? What the hell...?

Well, I asked for a taste before buying a take away bottle and was stunned at how enjoyable this beer is. I grabbed a bottle immediately, before asking the price.

The beer was $28 per 500ml bottle. My immediate thought was who needs to eat dinner if you have beer? So I handed over my money and drove home.

So, after arriving home. I suppose I had one pressing question.


Is this beer worth going without dinner?


Well! I suppose we had better taste it.

Boatrocker describe this beer as:

Barleywine ale aged in freshly emptied Starward Whisky (ex-Red Wine) barrels. Brewed in the English style, Banshee is all about the malt, wonderful oak and Starward whisky. These all contribute to a beer designed to sip, savour & share. This beer will age gracefully, developing delicious sherry and madeira characters.
Source

As usual, Boatrocker are pretty accurate with their descriptions. The beer pours a deep red, and has a strong aroma of whiskey and malts. The beer is only mildly carbonated which seems normal for this type of beer, however I'm far from an expert on Barley Wines. The beer has strong flavours of whiskey, malts and raisins. There are no flavours of hops and definitely no bitterness.

This is quite a sweet beer. And the whiskey flavours are very prominent. The sweetness was a little strong for me, however given the beer is designed to sip, this sweetness could be appropriate for this type of beer. Personally, this sweetness was a little too much for me but everything else about the beer was highly enjoyable.

Overall, I definitely enjoyed this beer. But the Ramjet Stout is still superior to this beer by comparison.

And yes, going without dinner was perfectly acceptable to have the opportunity to try this beer.


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
BansheeBarley WineBraeside, Vic11.8%4.0

All ratings are out of 5



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Beer, words, pic, post.....perfect.

Haha thanks mate :)

I love a good barleywine, as you say it need to be a slow sipper, they are perfect to winter, maybe in front of a fire and Boatrocker, there are few better breweries that in Australia than boatrocker.

Yeah I'm a huge fan of Boatrocker so will continue to get to know the owners. This is definitely a winter beer. But nothing beats Ramjet. That's quite simply the best beer I've ever had.

Where'd you get that from? Would Barley wine just not be beer or is this a new hipster thing?

Boatrocker! It's near Mordialloc. Barley Wine is actually a beer. It's an English style. Quite heavy but not as heavy as Stout. I'm a fan, it's great.

Only in Australia you can spend 28$ for 1 beer. That's mental.
They should pay you for advertising it.

It is mental, but it was a sipping beer so designed to take a couple of hours to drink. I may have polished off the whole bottle in 30 minutes :P

Love the video review, @mazzle. Dtube is perfect for you...

So, here comes a rant...

$28 for a bottle of beer. At that price, it ought to come with a server and a sandwich. I have seen the rise of craft brewing, love the excellent beers being brewed, but $28??? I don't spend that much on wine, and wine is arguably a higher life form in terms of longevity, craft, expertise, and expense to produce.

But you know, as I often say, to each his own. It seems there is a market for high-end beers (if we can call it that), so far be it for me to judge a brewer for exploiting a market. The big trend we're seeing here is 4 Packs of craft beer for $16, and they are flying off the shelves.

Again, great review. The beer sounds very interesting, if not too sweet, but worth a (free) taste. Cheers!

Thanks Jeff. $28 is definitely a bit rich. I can get a 24 pack of crap beer for that price.

I sort of understand the price. It’s aged in whiskey barrels so takes a full 12 months to produce. They do use very good ingredients in the production. And the taxes on craft beer production are insanely high. But that should still only put the beer in the $12 - $15 range.

Weirdly, their Stout is cheaper and is a superior beer in my opinion. So that’s what I’ll be drinking instead.

Agreed. The extra cost of production should be figured in, but it does seem too high a premium.

I'm going to have myself a few stouts this evening, me thinks...

$28$!!! I don't even like to pay that in Rands, and there are R12.00 in a $!! That is very expensive, I am glad you enjoyed the beer though, it sounds amazing.

Yep, at that price I don’t think I’ll be grabbing another one any time soon.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-11T14:32:39
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 305.65/400.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.42 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73