🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Monteith's Brewing Co. - Black Beer!🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)


Getting Stuck into Dark Ales!


This cold weather is making crave the dark ales. So tonight, I went out and found a Dark Ale that I hadn't tried before.

I chose a beer from New Zealand, I don't think I'd ever had one before. So I was quite excited to give this a shot.

Monteith's Brewing Co - Black Beer


This beer is definitely black, well almost. It pours an impressive colour which is very clearly the inspiration for the name of the beer.

The brewer describes this beer as:

Crafted from a blend of five premium malts to create a complex depth of flavours with dominant coffee notes. Crisper than sweet darks and smoother than harsh stouts. Perfect for the moment when you step in from the cold.
Source

And I was surprised to see that they are pretty much spot on with their description.


So what's it like?


The beer pours incredibly dark as mentioned above. It's aroma is that of coffee and dark chocolate which follows through to the palate with an impressive intensity. The carbonation is mild to high, which seems to be common with dark ales.

There are virtually no hops in both the aroma and flavours, normal for a dark ale, but surprisingly the beer is quite bitter. This suited the beer reasonably well. The finish is very crisp, but a little watery. Ratebeer.com gives mixed ratings for this beer. And I understand why. This isn't an amazing beer but is a decent one. It's very drinkable, but won't have me craving that next bottle in the fridge.

Overall, it's a solid dark ale. I've had better, but won't complain at all if this is the last beer in the fridge.

The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Monteith's Brewing Co Black BeerDark AleNew Zealand5.2%3.5

All ratings are out of 5

Rating and Reviews at Ratebeer.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-08T14:57:15
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 351.15/400.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I found a Porter beer, Black in colour, smokey its my new favourite beer right now. The complexity of some of these craft beers are unreal. I gotta start reviewing some crafts from Ontario soon.. drink too many and not write enough :/

You do! That porter sounds amazing.

Is it really that cold now in Australia? I see why you chose a black(dark) beer. I don’t really think that black beer go better in a cold day, but maybe sometimes in the extremely hot days, I can’t quite imagine myself drinking a thick dark beer.

Yeah it's pretty cold by Australian standards. This wasn't a thick beer but it was definitely heavier than your average beer.

I tend to like dark ales and stouts during the winter months. Or a beer with a higher alcohol content if those aren't available.

Do you drink stouts?

Nice try on a new beer. Yeah, I forget we are upside down up here and just getting warm. As for stouts, when I was in Utah a few months ago I got one that looked black. Of course, I was in a hotel and pouring it into a white plastic cup. It reminded me of oil pouring out. I quite liked it, but I haven't had that many.

I'm loving the stouts and dark ales at the moment. Get into them! If you can find any stouts that have been aged in whiskey barrels get stuck into them. It's an awesome combination.

I had no idea there was this much beer around! Do you find imported beer tastes better? What's your go to beer?

I actually prefer the local Australian craft brewers. Boatrocker Brewing is one of my favourites. They're only a few doors down from my gym which is dangerous.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82