Beersaturday! Another Romanian surprise. Sencha Japanese Tea Pale Ale!

in #beersaturday5 years ago

Sencha

IMG_1188 (1).jpg

Japanese tea pale ale. This is the next "beauty", coming from the Romanian brewery HOP HOOLIGANS. Having in mind, that I have a passion about Japan, I found it to be extremely appropriate to buy exactly that beer.

As you may know, Sencha is a traditional tea of Japan. Combining it with hops in a beer? I've only heard about this kind of beers so far. I was completely not sure about what was supposed to be expected from this whole action.
I have to mention, that the artwork on the label looked very attractive and cool.

IMG_1189 (1).jpg

But now, let's proceed towards the beer itself.
Right from opening the can, this beer was a bit different from the others. Along with the hops there was something more, giving some additional complex to the beer. Yes, this is definitely the Sencha, used to brew this beer with.

IMG_1190 (1).jpg

And when I gave the beer a first try... I thought, that this was the most beautiful beer, have I tasted in a very long time... I don't know why, but there was some sort of magic, happening in the glass, and it was like no other beer before. The green tea added freshness and some flowery notes, unknown to any sort of hops. Traditional hop oiliness was "traded" with a pure and fresh tea flavor. The beer itself was not very heavy bodied, just a traditional pale ale grade of body.

IMG_1191 (1).jpg

I have nothimg more to say about this beer. I just know, that I want more and more ot it, because there was something really special about its taste. Luckily the Romanian boys have published all the ingredients, used for brewing this beer, so if you cannot find where to buy it, you can try brewing it yourself.

IMG_1194 (1).jpg

And pay attention, that in this beer, again, under the "best before"tag, there is something to be connected with the beer, and fot this Sencha beer, it says "HAIKU". The Romanians tend to tag all their beers with such kind game of words.

See you soon, #beersaturday competitors and beer lovers. See you very soon!

Sort:  

That sounds amazing. I wish I could find it here in Australia :(

That's the problem with Beer Saturday. I keep seeing stuff that I want to try, but can't find in my little country.

Great to see you around again, fellow!
Your "little country"is not very little I think, but maybe because you're a bit far away from Europe, and alcohol taxes are a bit too high in your country,,, I really don't know.

Anyway, happy to have you back, and cheers!

It does sound like a good beer, I like the name hop hooligan and the Japanese inspired la el and the beer itself sound interesting. But yes as @mazzle says we do get too many Eastern European beers here, lots of scandi, Belgians and UK which all have to come just as far and cost just as much, I think it has more to do with coolness and where people travel to than anything else.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13