#beersaturday and some memories

in #beersaturday5 years ago

It's #beersaturday initiated a long time ago by @detlev

Be sure to check his post Whooot whooot - summer time means beer time - BeerSaturday week 113 for more interesting and inspiring stories about beer.

This time no beer from a Dutch island but from the other side of the Netherlands

When walking through a nearby supermarket my eyes caught a special beer from the well known Dutch brewery Grolsch.
Grolsch beer always brings up some memories in me. When I moved to the Netherlands more than 20 years ago I was living in a small city near the German border. But also near to the Grolsch brewery in a neighbor city less than 10km away from my place.

One of the most intense memories I have about that time is about what happened on May 13th, 2000.
You can read all the details about it on Wikipedia Enschede fireworks disaster.
It's unbelievable what fireworks can do - especially when it's stored in the middle of a living area.
Luckily it was a sunny Saturday and many people were not at home. But still, 23 death people, 400 destroyed homes and 1500 buildings damaged.
The Grolsch brewery was located very close to the explosions and if one of the tanks filled with fluid ammonia exploded the entire inner city of Enschede would have been gone.
Nowadays the brewery is far outside of the city.

Even 10km away from the explosion the windows of my apartment were shaking.

I'll put a link to a short youtube video at the end of the post.

But now the fun part - BEER

The "Grolsch Tripel" is the first Beer of the Grolsch tasting in 2017. Due to the excellent assessment, re-released in a limited edition in our brown bottle.

A good reason to build my own opinion, I thought.

IMG_20190803_192904.jpg

What is it that gives this beer a special taste?

Well, let's do some more reading.

The "Grolsch Kruidige Tripel" is brewed with cardamom, coriander, and lemongrass. The addition of these herbs gives the "Grolsch Tripel" a distinctive character and a fresh taste.

I had no idea which kind of taste I could expect from a beer with these ingredients.

IMG_20190803_192634.jpg

The WOW effect

I was stunned by the taste!
No unpleasant taste because of the herbs, but a perfectly matched combination! Very fresh and I absolutely recommend this beer!
I'll try to get more of them which might be not easy because it's a limited edition. But I absolutely have to give it a try.

The other side of the label

IMG_20190803_193211.jpg

If you ever get the chance to buy a bottle of this beer grab it directly before someone else does!

Here the youtube link of the fireworks explosion

The video quality is bad and at the beginning, you might think "well, not very spectacular". At minute 1:10 the first explosion happens and that's where most people think "wow - heavy!".
But that's only the beginning. At minute 2:15 the second explosion happens and the camera almost fails to work so that the heavest third explosion could not be caught on that camera.
The last minute of the video shows what the explosions did to the area. It looked like a war-zone.

After watching, you might understand why I still remember this day.

Thanks for stopping by and reading - enjoy the rest of the weekend and

STEEM ON!!!

If you love dogs you might want to take a look at @dog-marley's stories.
If you love music you might want to take a look at @psionic-tremors' blog.

For free Dogecoins every hour click here
For free Bitcoins every 5 minutes click here
For free BTC Cash every 5 minutes click here
For free Dogecoins every 5 minutes click here
For free Litecoins every 5 minutes click here
For free Dash Coins every 5 minutes click here

Sort:  

Ups I forgot something....

!BEER

Cheers !!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers!!!
Have a !BEER :)

Thanks !!!

Posted using Partiko Android

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @chrisparis, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our [BEER Crowdfunding](https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@beerlover/let-s-grow-and-update-the-beer-token-huge-crowndfunding-as-crowdsale)

Darn... I planned a post about a beer we brought with us from France for #beersaturday and I simply forgot to make the post.

Not that the beer was that great. What was I thinking? I'm Belgian. Why would I go buy beer in France?! lol

The bottle is cool! But beer brewed with cardamom and coriander? Those are like my two least favorite herbs... Still, you made me curious about it.

I thought the same about cardamom and coriander. Lucky I did not read it in the supermarket but at home. Otherwise, I would not have bought it - for sure.
Really, if you see a bottle, grab it! Some hours in the fridge and enjoy on a sunny day ;)

Hi @pundito!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.276 which ranks you at #8506 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 8503).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 143 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That sound like an interesting beer to taste. I will have a look around in Vaals when I'm back to Europe

I hope you can get one ... or two ... or ... ;)

Too bad a good beer brings bad memories. I'll try to keep that beer in mind and hunt for it if we have that here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes - but the beer makes it easier to handle ;)
If you can get it, enjoy!!!

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @pundito, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our [BEER Crowdfunding](https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@beerlover/let-s-grow-and-update-the-beer-token-huge-crowndfunding-as-crowdsale)

The beer looked and sounded very interesting. I feel it unlikely I'll come across this on in my present location, but if it I find it, I'll definitely give it a shot. I'm especially having trouble imagining how the lemongrass tastes, but I bet it came out well.

Thanks for sharing! Cheers!

Thanks for stopping by!
Yes, I'm not sure if it is exported at all as it is a limited edition.

But I'm sure you'll find an alternative :)

Cheers!
Have a !BEER :)

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @tj5553, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our [BEER Crowdfunding](https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@beerlover/let-s-grow-and-update-the-beer-token-huge-crowndfunding-as-crowdsale)

You got a 7.68% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @pundito! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I must say the beer looks amazing, and I love the classic style bottle!! Here is a !BEER for you, cheers!!

Thanks a lot for stopping by!

Here is a !BEER for you too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09