Beer Saturday? Don't mind if I DO!

zekes-hops.jpg

You have to read that title again after watching this.....

@detlev may be planning his trip to STEEMfest but us beer connoisseurs have to keep sharing the foamy goodness and contributing to the #beersaturday movement. Such a great community of happy drunks!

Looking back, it appears to have been 23 days since my last Hops post and I apologize from the bottom of my heart for that. I didn't mean to do that to you, I just sprinkle m,y posts with enough beer to keep you from going thirsty. I can assure you I have been enjoying the golden goodness since then and definitely don't limit it to Saturdays.

Here we go!

IMG_4590.jpg

Cameron's Brewing - 12-mile India Pale Lager

https://www.cameronsbrewing.com/beers/

Generally, I get annoyed with clever variations on the IPA classification (Session ale, APA, IPL, etc) as they try and both stand out from the crowd with just words, yet leverage the popularity of the crowd. Which is it?
I had this in the can at a pub (Timothy's I featured on @Tasteem) even though there were drafts available because it was on sale. Back in the day, this brewery often provided the only alternative to the Molson/Labatt piss and I remember loving the Cream Ale and the Dark ale. It was a little strange but tasty enough to be a nice change from the regiular IPA. It is probably because of their use of Mosaic and Galaxy hops which are my 2 favourites that tipped me in the GOOD direction. This will slide into the I don't hate this classification which means I won't avoid it or seek it out. Just drink it if there are no better alternatives.


IMG_4693.jpg

Upper Thames Brewing - Portage Inda Pale Ale

http://upperthamesbrewing.ca/our-beer/

This is a brewery maybe an hour from my house I have never visited. I do like the branding and remember drinking this before but not being strongly impacted by flavour or lack thereof. So, I took the chance to have some on draft because it was on sale and it might just taste totally different than it does in a can. It did kinda and I was struck by how hazy it was. Unfiltered is the trend nowadays and it probably does something psychological to you when you are drinking something not clear. Another **I Don't Hate This" that probably will be put en the "Might pick it up for a change of pace" category.


IMG_4673.jpg

Great Lakes Brewery - Octopus Wants to Fight IPA

http://www.greatlakesbeer.com/beer/octopus-wants-to-fight-ipa/

This one is an old favourite I had to fall back on after a couple of fairly good ones. I have reported on this one in past hops posts including the infamous keg war of 2018. Plenty of hop and plenty of ABV and plenty of IBU for this punch in the mouth of a beer. I buy it whenever I am in Toronto because my brother works there and gets an INSANE discount. So, to pay twice as much at home without the discount tells you how much I love this one. Definitely in my top 10 and it looks like they produce it all year around now instead of seasonally like they had in the past. So damn good!

cheers.jpg

That oughtta wet your whistle! Have any good beers this week yourself?

Sort:  

You've been adopted by me for a week as part of my adoptme project!

well i certainly like the name of the 2nd one :)

In addition to it being on your top 10 list, the can might be a top ten also.
Its got to s--k to buy it for full price though. Next time you see your brother just pick up, lets say 5-10 cases extra. Then you can do what my wife does. She comes home from an extended day of shopping and tells me how much money she just saved us. It kinds of goes like this. " Wow everything was on sale, I got this for 40% off, I got this for half price, I bought two of these and got one free, I can't believe how much money I Just saved." No don't get me wrong, she can buy what ever her heart desires, but the word save, to me means I have stashed it away somewhere. You should try that approach yourself when you have to GET THOSE BOYS OFF OF THE BEACH and your wife wants to know what the hell is going as your making room in the frig for the surplus nector of the gods. How could she possible get upset with you, I mean with all the money you just saved the household.

It seems to work pretty well for her. Let me know how you do. May be I just helped you save a couple of bucks, and have one of your top 10 brews right at your fingertips. YOU'RE WELCOME.

One last thing, most of the stuff she buys is not a necessity, you saw the way Homer was behaving. We wouldn't want it to come to that now!!

Hahah you kill me.

If I had that much beer around, it would just get in my mouth.

@zekepickleman, I don't drink beer, but I like how the beer cans, in your pics, look like.

Posted using Partiko Android

It really is a movement where there are so many craft breweries vying for the premium beer $. The branding is becoming more and more creative and different to gain that recognition and differentiation while the market becomes crowded.

Also, the regional branding my seem neat from far away where beer has been made for over 300 years.

Rest assured, I can drink the beer for both of us.

I just sprinkle m,y posts with enough beer to keep you from going thirsty.

:D Golden :D Also, how many of those funny categories of beers do you have? :D Whats the name of the best one :D?

I would say old favourite or long running top 10. I have been thinking about looking at them and ranking them here from 1-10 in a post. Maybe throw 20 of them in a bracket and face them off against eachother.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You will either be a canoer or

It really is not bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30