Zeke's Sweet Sweet Hops - Beer Tokens and Old Favourites!

zekes-hops.jpg

This post is a celebration of beer, Beer Tokens on STEEM, and 100 weeks of the #Beersaturday challenge. https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/100-weeks-of-beersaturday @detlev and the crew have provided us with great beer on the blockchain for a long while, have enabled us to buy eachother beer with the tokens, and have started a custom Discord server. https://discord.gg/cZshfA So, if you are a lover of beer or know someone who is, join us!

Get yourself some Beer Tokens!

text16.png

In honour of this nice round number, I present: Old Favourites

IMG_5979.jpg

Jobsite Brewing - Impact IPA - https://jobsitebrewing.ca/beers/

I may have started beer blogging while helping build this brewery with Dave and Phil who have become friends. I handle their technology, and they handle the growlers! Impact IPA was described to me before it was ever brewed as a New England IPA intended to be a gateway for new IPA drinkers but flavourful enough to be enjoyed by old skool IPA guys.....if there is such a thing. They nailed it (see what I did there?) as this is a nice and full sweet IPA with plenty of hops but not the sport hopping that would make an unrefined pallet think they were drinking a glass full of pine needles.

My latest visit there was to update some of the equipment and I was sent away with this beauty which didn't last long in the fridge! Here is the grand opening post if you care to read https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@zekepickleman/jobsite-brewing-grand-opening

text16.png


text16.png

IMG_6027.jpg

Railway City - Dead Elephant IPA - http://www.railwaycitybrewing.com/beer-1

With all the new beer I have discovered in the last while. this beer is one of the original IPAs from years past.....though still available. Back then, I found it as a strong and not particularly refreshing though very tasty IPA. It seemed to me that it had a little strange elephant taste to it and I always wondered why you would brand a beer with 2 things that do not suggest refreshing: Dead and Elephant.

IMG_6028.jpg

Well my answer is now on the can itself. Jumbo the Elephant (of P.T. Barnum Travelling Circus fame_ seems to have met his untimely demise in St Thomas in a train accident. So, their big bold elephant tasting beer is named in that honour. Now you know!

IMG_6029.jpg

Here are the particulars in great detail also on the rather busy and informative package. 66 IBU seems reasonable and it must be the Cascade hops in that quantity that gives it the strong bitter taste and not so much sweet and fruity. I am glad to know I can probably go another couple years without having this and I can revisit it then.

text16.png

IMG_6037.jpg

Toboggan Brewing - Lunatic Fridge IPA - http://www.tobogganbrewing.com/beer

This is an old favourite from just down the road in London Ontario. I originally bought this on a whim as I generally do the first time and I instantly loved it. Such a great balance of bold and sweet with ample parts of each. I am not sure how far and wide they ship it but I have only been able to find it in my town and not in the big city. the City Slickers have never heard of it no matter how many times I mention it and I am fine with that.

IMG_6038.jpg

The branding is funny, unique and as bold as the beer. I always liked the name as it is a play on words with a lot of Canadiana built in. The can mentions nothing of it however as you can see. It harkens back to a Tom Cochrane song called Lunatic Fringe. You may know him from the song "Life is a Highway" that they played too damn much in the 90s.

text16.png

I will leave you with a little Lunatic Fringe and invite you to have a beer with the gang for #beersaturday

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Poor Jumbo I had not idea..there are some fun beers to be sure :)

Haha! As many times I have had it over the years, I never knew til it was time to blog about it. The stuff you learn on a beer can!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Beerologist? Is that even a real word?

K. Just checking. I thought maybe it was a Canadian word... 😂

I love that first bottle and so many cool cans I think if I was going to go for a can ( note I am much more a beer in a bottle person myself, well I was I no longer drink beer because of my meds :( ) I could see some of those lunatic Fridge cans in my fridge

Yah the first bottle is 1.8 litres of stuff fresh from the brewery. Blogging about beer is so great because the designs make them photogenic and there are constantly new ones to discover.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wish I had found steemit back when I was a beer drinker I would have had fun with it and beers posts 😎

I love the growler in the first pic

Posted using Partiko Android

Yah me too. I think I managed to stretch the love over 2 evenings but it was some tasty ale from one of my favourite clients.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you zekepickleman! You've just received an upvote of 100% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84