Amazing: Bees Carry Little Baskets to Collect Pollen!

in #bees6 years ago

Exploring And Observing Our Environment

20180912_102649.jpg

I was just taking a long walk through our property to explore certain parts of it I hadn't gone to very much. It was a beautifull walk and I found several specie of plants I hadn't seen before, cool rock formations and really awesome vines taking over their host!!!

As part of my permaculture education I am always observing our environment, and make it a point to come out when it's raining too.

20180912_102846.jpg

20180912_102532.jpg

20180912_095054.jpg

There obviously are so many plants I haven't seen yet and I probably won't see them all!!! But this was a fun little walk. I also saw a fox running away from me and a couple deer. The day before that I saw a little snake cross my path... I hear it is the season for baby snake to do their thing.

But the best part of my day was when I tpok a break from working on a RV renovation, I noticed all these bees with round yellow legs hanging from their sides... This I had never seen and I simply assumed (making an ass out of you and me 😁) they were where these little creatures collect pollen.

After a quick search online, it turns out that is what I thpught it was and some people call them pollen baskets:

The pollen basket or corbicula (plural corbiculae) is part of the tibia on the hind legs of certain species of bees. They use the structure in harvesting pollen and carrying it to the nest or hive. Other species of bees have scopae instead.Source

Here's the Video:

I couldn't believe it, nature is really awesome... I know I sound like a little kid hust discovering a bunch of new things... well that's exactly how I feel!

I am very happy to see bees thriving here and let's remember to be mindfull around our pollinators... we would have a difficult time surviving as humans without them!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @RiverFlows
When someone believes in you, you're far more likely to rise up the best version of you that you can be.

(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please let me know)

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

And don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Bees, deer, fox. Sounds like a healthy little eco-system. Even the snakes. Nothing like getting to intimately know a little piece of this earth. Nice to walk past the same rock formation in all different seasons and all different weather. Have a great weekend @senorcoconut

Ah thank you so much @steven-patrick!!! I had an excellent weekend and I hope you did too.

I love it out here, getting to see all the four seasons in the same spot... learning the lay of the land for sure here!

I like to sit in front of the beehives and look at all the different kinds of pollen that the bees are collecting. Individual bees concentrate on one type of flower at a time, so if there is more than one bloom happening each bee will have a different color pollen. Yellow and light tan are the most common colors, but sometimes you see green or blue pollen.

Some beekeepers harvest pollen with a device on the hive entrance that brushes the pollen pellet off of the bees' legs as they enter the hive. I've never tried that on my hives, but I have harvested pollen from the combs and made special jars of honey with extra pollen for friends who are allergy sufferers.

That's pretty amazing stuff... I guess I never really looked at bees all that close! I was a city boy for a long time. Blue pollen too? Thank you so much for all that info, I like that they all go home with different pollen when different flowers are in bloom. Very cool.

Thanks again

I get like a kid at Christmas with bees too. Love them. We were given a hive but the bees seem to have disappeared from it.. totally gutted!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Disappeared... that's a drag! I know we don't have the bandwidth to take care of bees right now! One day though, I'd love it

Oh I have so much respect for bees and all that they do for us, they are indeed such awesome creatures and something we should all celebrate. Love the amount of passion I felt reading this, nothing better than getting such a buzz from being out in nature and being in awe of her beauty xxx

Thanks so much. Yeah it is a great buzzzz. Just woke up that morning and decided to take a walk through the forest, and it was rejuvenating!

Respect to the bees!

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been hand-picked and shared in our "Spreading the Love" weekly curation series because your content promotes our core values of life, freedom, truth, love, and happiness! You can check it out here.

We'd also like to personally invite you to join our Freedom Tribe. Thank you for your conscious contribution to this platform! Steem on! 🙏❤


left.gif

Oooh nice, thank you so very much 😁!

that's so cool, nature is amazing! And it looks like a beautiful property!! :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00