Packing up the bee homes for the seasonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bees5 years ago

It's been a week since I've seen any bees visit the home. They usually are only active for four to six weeks. It's been about that long so I'm packing them up for the year. I may need to keep one out in the yard to signal if the leafcutter bees are making a second appearance for the season. But I want to protect the bees from any pests in the mean time.

The homes were noticeably more heavy than when I put them up, they are filled and ready for next year.

I'll keep them in my garage and hope the leafcutter bees stay dormant. I dont recall them leaving their homes in the middle of the summer last year so I think I'll be fine.

Hah the box is even black and yellow just like bees.. how fitting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I hope they like to play football!

So the bees lie dormant in those containers? Those containers have holes for air right? Or do they need it? Apologies if that's a dumb question.

Posted using Partiko Android

@eonwarped Haha, classic garage picture with a deflated football inside. Yes they are dormant, bees laid eggs in the tubes during the early spring.. sealed off the holes with mud and a larva starts growing inside.

Hmm not sure if they need more air.. insects dont need to need much air and since they are in those tubes I think a loosely fitting box will give them enough.. I guess I'll learn a hard lesson if they dont emerge next year as this is the first time I've boxed them up.

Posted using Partiko Android

bees say : see you next year @solominer ;)

@cityofstars

I am quite excited to see how many I get next year, this year was crazy with the amount I had coming through my yard. Hope next year ill have that many or more.

I plan on opening the box every few weeks to let fresh air in and to make sure they arent emerging too early.

I hope they don’t sting you

Posted using Partiko iOS

@dannymens solitary bees wont unless I crush them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very cool!

Saw this on PYPT with @shadowspub

I love how you set up this box...never saw anything like this!

How much honey do you get to eat? 😋

@dreemsteem these are known as solitary bees and they do not produce honey. Just pollen, which I'm planning on attempting to collect next season.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhhhh. Well yes I hear that eating bee pollen is so healthy for you!!!! But honey mmmmm.. sounds like you need to get some honey bees too hehehe

I used to have a worm farm and I so loved it!!!! I should do it again! Hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

@dreemsteem oh cool I've looked into worm farms.. I hope to have one one day.. and yeah I want honey bees too but maybe when I have more land.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi dreemsteem the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82