Living In the Shadow of a Sleeping Giant

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

Here's a nice landscape shot I took after climbing halfway up a dormant volcano that sits in the middle of Edinburgh. It affords you wonderful views of the park it is in (holyrood park) and the cliffs made of volcanic rock (the crags) as well as the city beyond. This park is unique because of the volcanic rock which made this a convenient place for the Geosciences to blossom. In fact Edinburgh is the birthplace of Geology as James Hutton, considered the father of Geology lived, worked, and eventually was buried here.

The dormant volcano itself has been dormant for millennia, and not in much danger of ever reawakening, but if it does... my apartment is far enough away that if something were to happen I would have enough time to run in panic to a certain demise.. oh wait, that's not so good.. Well that's the risk you run living in the shadow of a sleeping giant!

This is also one of the first shots where I tried to apply a tilt shift affect to it in post processing. I really liked the result which sparked an idea for a project that I have now been working on, on and off for several years. I have been debating whether to share that project here, and if so, how.. It is a project I eventually want to publish into a book.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

This looks like a photograph of a miniature landscape, I don't know why but it doesn't look real at all! 😅

Thank you! That is exactly what I was trying to achieve with this shot! :D

How beautiful is the nature of our surroundings Our nature looks more beautiful than the sky, which only birds can see. Birds enjoy this beautiful nature every day.

Birds are very lucky aren't they :)

i don't kow of it will work in a book... but i love this!

Thanks! Yeah its definitely hard to tell if it will work as a book.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

The Tilt Shift effect worked amazingly well here love the miniature feel you achieved

Thanks :) I've done a whole series that is part of this project I mention in the post.. I think i'll share them here soon. Though its not quite a finished project.

I look forward to seeing them, I love this effect even though I have never done one I liked myself yet lOL

Thanks, I really love the effect too. It can really add interest to an image.

Excellent shot @fiftysixnorth! I want a big wall hanging of this - I would put it on my living room wall if I could. Just beautiful! :)

Thank you @snowpea, there is no greater compliment :) And I can arrange that if you are serious ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27