The Little Edinburgh Project 1 - The Galleries on the Mound

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

A few days ago I posted a picture Living in the shadow of a sleeping giant where I talked about a long term project that I have been working on for the past few years on and off. I have decided that I will start sharing that project with you all now.

The Little Edinburgh Project

It is called Little Edinburgh and it is a series of shots I have taken around the city of Edinburgh in Scotland over the years. It is called Little Edinburgh because the focus of the project is to take photos in a way as to show the city in miniature using the tilt-shift effect. Edinburgh is an international cosmopolitan city but still somehow has a small town feel to it. I cannot walk down the street without recognising someone I know. So with that in mind it felt appropriate to create a vision of Edinburgh that makes it look very small, almost like a toy town.

The Galleries on the Mound

In this first image you can see the Galleries on the Mound. The Mound is the road that goes around the main building you can see in the centre of the photo. That building and the one to it's right (shown more clearly in a later image) are art Galleries at the very centre of the city. It sits right between the Old Town (the more historic near-medieval) part of the city and the New Town which features more modern Georgian architecture.

This particular building is called the Scottish National Gallery and hosts various art exhibitions throughout the year.

This was also my very first attempt at the project and at the time I was very happy with the results. Of course, as time goes on and I got a little better I started to have mixed feelings about this shot, we are our own worst critics after all. I still love it as the whole project is very much a pet project of mine.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Superb picture, I love how the focus is set on the National Gallery with surrounding area blurred. And it could be a model recreation straight out of a Hornby railway set - really clever how you have got that effect.

I’m looking forward to more of these in future, super idea love it.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks mate, I've got quite a few of these.. it's one of my favourite effects, its a lot of fun to play with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34