The Little Edinburgh Project 14 - Holyrood North

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

The Little Edinburgh Project

This is Little Edinburgh, it is a series of shots I have taken around the city of Edinburgh in Scotland over the years. It is called Little Edinburgh because the focus of the project is to take photos in a way as to show the city in miniature using the tilt-shift effect. Edinburgh is an international cosmopolitan city but still somehow has a small town feel to it. I cannot walk down the street without recognising someone I know. So with that in mind it felt appropriate to create a vision of Edinburgh that makes it look very small, almost like a toy town.

Holyrood North

I have featured pictures of holyrood before in the project, but this covers holyrood from the north of the city. You can clearly see a church here with it graveyard extending behind it. It is a pretty crowded part of the city so it comes as a bit of a surprise to see a large open space for a cemetery.

Construction of the church began in 1688 which explains why they still had space then for a cemetery! Of course later, they wouldn't dare remove the cemetery or build over it. It's consecrated ground and would be an outrageous insult to god.. I wonder though how long that will last. Eventually the need for more space will trump the need to be kind to religion.

Aside from the church you can see the apartment buildings snaking up the road (to the right of the church). I always find these interesting.. they are the buildings built along the oldest and first main street in the city. The buildings are also therefore some of the first built and very very old. One of the old apartments I used to live in on that street was itself built before the Americas were discovered! And yes, the place was super haunted though that's not quite relevant to this image.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

Love your title - Little Edinburgh! As cities go, it is pretty small too. Yet it is BIG on culture and history! Can't wait to see it again!

Did you use a tilt-shift lens, or create the effect in post-processing?

Thanks :) I don't have a tilt shift lens, it's a little above my pay grade! I achieved the effect in photoshop.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86