The Little Edinburgh Project 20 - Princes Street and the Royal Scots Greys

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

The Little Edinburgh Project

This is Little Edinburgh, it is a series of shots I have taken around the city of Edinburgh in Scotland over the years. It is called Little Edinburgh because the focus of the project is to take photos in a way as to show the city in miniature using the tilt-shift effect. Edinburgh is an international cosmopolitan city but still somehow has a small town feel to it. I cannot walk down the street without recognising someone I know. So with that in mind it felt appropriate to create a vision of Edinburgh that makes it look very small, almost like a toy town.

Princes Street and the Royal Scots Greys

This is a shot of Princes Street. Not Princess street but Princes street.. do you see the insanely subtle difference? I always though ... for a good decade that it was princess, but it turns out the name of the street is that of prince (but plural). That fried my brain when it finally clicked in my head. Its crazy how much one letter can change the meaning of a word like that.

Princes street is the main shopping avenue of the city and though somewhat less picturesque (in my opinion) than other parts of the city, this is were people tend to gravitate towards on the weekends for their shopping.

The statue at the centre of the image is the Royal Scots Greys Monument. The Royal Scots Greys being a british army cavalry regiment that was operational from 1707 - 1971. At that time it was merged with the 3rd Carabiniers to create The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I like doing this effect. It makes photos look like toys as you mentioned. It's awesome what technology can do.

It is a lot of fun :) Technology really has opened up a lot of creative doors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77