Pause for Thought 2019 : Adjusting my sights, refocusing my efforts

in #big5 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steem for 18 months.

I've just about learnt the ropes.

Although some are too frayed or too entangled to be of any use for pulling my weight.

And that is why I came to Steem - to pull my weight. To do my little tiny bit to make the world a better place.


Before I came to Steem I was not a blogger, nor a vlogger, nor a social media enhusiast.

I was a prepper, a homesteader, an environmentalist and a community activist.

When I arrived on the platform they were my starting points.

I quickly zeroed in on the embryonic homesteading and prepping communities.

They grew. I grew with them.

The homesteaders and the preppers were sparse in the UK, but I assumed they would come as sure as steam rises.

To help the cause I began to push Steem to the local groups and organisations around me.

Steem was on the up, and I really felt a local Steem community was on the cards.

But as fast as I filled the bucket with new recruits, so they dropped out.

The delays in signups, lost passwords, difficulty of use and understanding... and then Steem began its long downward slide.


So I decided to go long and to go wide.

I experimented with A Dollar A Day and it seemed to work.

I started The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves and it seemed to work.

Think Local, Act Global. I had found my new community.

And for most of 2018 they satisfied my urge.

My urge to do things good.

I interviewed people and made connections.

I raised money and gave it to people.

All good things...


With the advent of 2019 I want to step back and look forward.

The road ahead on Steem looks hazier than the path so far traveled.

There are less people to talk with, and less money to raise.

I must plan my route with utmost care and pinpoint accuracy.

I must be selective in where I tread and how I travel.

I want to return to my roots and feel the ground beneath my feet.

What can I do on Steem to have maximum effect with my limited resources.

How can I do my little tiny bit to make the world a better place?


It's time to revisit and review all that I do.

SteemClub-UK

SteemClub-UK has been an interesting attempt to explore the potential of the Steem community in the UK. The two virtual meetups have been fun.

Growing the list of active UK Steemians to 150 has been encouraging, but that has regretably been decreasing faster than it has been increasing.

The sad reality is that it is very difficult to plan events, grow numbers, build community, do stuff when we are all but one in a million.


A Dollar A Day

A Dollar A Day has been more successful. Peaking out with US$5000 raised from May to December 2018.

It is more difficult territory ahead. Money's too tight to mention for many.

There are funds to raise and funds to give.

But there will be less. So they must be given more effectively.

Lots of small daily donations to projects may not be the best way to help.

I want to focus in on need. On specific needs from specific groups at specific times.

I want to track down, and work with, projects that are making a difference in a big way with little resources. And give them more.

Call me if you know one.

I will be announcing the modified approach for A Dollar A Day very shortly.


'Radio' Shows

The radio shows have been a wild ride this past year.

They have morphed and mutated multiple times from The Alternative Lifestyle Show and My Life In 8 Songs all way through to the State of Steem Forums.

The Forums will finish on 14 February, and my bit will be done.

On 21 February I am planning to return to my home town with a special edition all about the fast growing Homesteaders Co-op founded by @sagescrub.

After that who knows...


2019 lies ahead.

There are twelve months in a year, and this is just the first.



[ images by @pennsif & @homesteaderscoop ]

Sort:  

You are amazing. Your list of a achievements is incredible, and like others have said- something to be so proud of! I look forward to cheering you on through 2019 and I hope it's an exciting year for you. Evie x

Thank you.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and hindsights about your projects and ambitions :) Whatever path you follow, I am wishing you much happiness in 2019 @pennsif!

Thank you @sagescrub. I am looking forward to following the continued progress of @homesteaderscoop.

Indeed it's been up and down year and you have sure done more that your share, something to be proud of. I have spoken a bit about building the Steem UK in late next jibcast (coming dreckly) but I do feel that 2019 will see a rise in the UK community. Keep up the great work and hope I can manage to contribute more in 2019. I hope it's a good on for you 💯🐒

I am looking forward to seeing what comes in 2019.

Do drop me a link when you release your next jibcast.

will do sure thing. Hope to do it tonight. Been an incredibly busy start to the year at work so knackered 💯🐒

Finally posted it of to bed for me! 💯🐒

I for one very much appreciate the list of active UK Steemians and your radio shows that I have listened to... especially over the last couple of months. Looking forward to 2019 and beyond.

Thank you. Hopefully the list of UK steemians will grow in 2019.

You SOS forums are so well-timed. Thank you for being the connector of many initiatives on Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope people find them useful.

Good luck on SOS forum tonight! I will listen to the recording afterwards.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @pennsif!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.495 which ranks you at #583 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 586).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16