Flowers

in #bigwaves6 years ago

download (33).jpeg

They were beautiful.

I knew you were going to love them. I had handpicked them myself as usual, while passing by Grandma Ayo's garden. Flowers of different colors.

The carnations, roses and dandelions. Your favorite. I never forgot.

I glanced at my watch.

5:03pm.

I was late.

As always.

I quickened my pace and took longer strides.

You hated lateness.

Wiping the sweat off my forehead, I turned a corner and the brown roof of your house came into view. I bit back a smile.

I couldn't wait to see you.

Your pretty brown eyes and weirdly shaped front tooth.

'Can you feel me coming to you Ariyike?'

I bet you could.

I was at your doorstep now.

Adjusting my collar, I pressed the doorbell anxiously and waited.

A minute later, your mother came to the door.

She didn't look surprised to see me. Rather she was upset. Her lower lip trembled violently when she saw the flowers in my left hand.

I hid them behind me and gave her a charming smile, "Good afternoon ma'am", I said, "I'd like to see-"

I was interrupted, "She's not here, Tolu. She isn't". Her voice was shaking uncontrollably.

"And you're well aware of that", she continued, "why are you doing this... It's been six weeks..."

I frowned, "What are you talking about ma'am...?"

Tears swam in her eyes, "She isn't here anymore Tolu. Please don't make this difficult. You know where she is. Please leave".

I was taken aback "Ma..."

The door was swung shut in my face before I could even speak.

Heart thundering loudly in my rib cage, I slowly turned around and walked round the house towards the backyard.

My hands were shaking violently now. I could feel the fog of denial clearing in my head

'Ariyike...'

I could hear your name in the breeze.

My legs didn't stop walking.

I knew where you were.

Of course I did.

How could I not?

'It's been six weeks...'

Finally, my legs stopped at the clearing, just behind your favorite tree.

I knelt by the tomb stone and shut my eyes

'Ariyike...'

I had been too late to save you from drowning yourself.

Because I had gone to get you flowers.

I had been late.

As always.

Image source: Flickr

Sort:  

I laud your dexterity. This was creatively and nicely weaved... more ink to your pen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78