There is an answer all around steemit if you know how to look

in #bigwaves6 years ago

images (66).jpeg
Source

Sometime ago I mentioned being hacked on one of the exchanges and how I lost a lot of my funds. I'm fully aware that it is part of the risks of dealing with cryptocurrencies and exchanges. I'm also aware that a lot of people have lost fortunes due to these factors. It brings to mind an aspect of the regulations for cryptocurrencies, being able to hold a body responsible/accountable for such loses and other things. However, such regulations are in contrast to decentralization, as it puts power in the hands of some select few.

There is something I found out about taking risks though, it makes one prepared for both the worst and the best, rather than just accepting what comes your way, and if the result is favourable or not, a lesson that can never be taken away has been learnt. Others may call it experience, but personally I call it life lesson.

The blockchain is powerful, it is filled with a wealth of information about so many things, even the weirdest things. On steemit, everyone is a wealth of information.

I will not dispute the fact that I was heartbroken and torn up about the loss but what could I really do? I gave up after contacting the support and they acknowledged that the systems security was compromised. One day, while I was surfing through my feeds and digging through profiles just to know stuff, I came across a post made by a witness about exchanges nearly a year ago, then I shared my experience and I was replied.

He said he would help contact someone he knew at the exchange, and I showed my appreciation. After waiting for about a week with no response, did I bug the hell of his life because he seemed like my Knight in shinning armour? Did I swim in his comments and upvote all his post since he joined steemit? No I did none of that. I did the opposite, I lost all hope.

I lost all hope in getting my funds back, but I did not loose hope in cryptocurrency or blockchain or steemit which opened the door to my world of crypto. I infact realised more about what I was dealing with and was more prepared to be prepared for all it had to bring.

Yesterday afternoon, the exchange mailed me and said I had been shortlisted for a reimbursement program and all lost funds will be returned to my account after providing few details. It was totally a good news for me because it will not just put my funds back, but also give me a re-assurance that I'm on the right path.

A lot of people do not want to invest in steem because of various reasons, the security being one of them. I'm pleased to tell you that your investment in steem is stored up in your steem power, which at the least earns you curation rewards and is extremely safe unless you loose your password.

A lot of people do not want to take risks to invest even after been proven by the system to be worthy, is it because they undermine their capability to make the money back? Is it then a "them factor", then why are they here? For free money? Forgetting that buying steem adds to its value and yield in increase for the good of every user.

When I got into steemit, steem was about 7$ it was crazy difficult for someone like me to buy in quantities as low as 50 steem. However, steem is 1.3$ at this time of writing, this is the time to dive in heavy, take all that risk, and you may end up regretting what you did not do rather than what you did do. If you asked me, steem is going to be here for a long time and whatever decision you make now all counts in making steem be what you want it to be to you.

Back to the exchange, no I have not gotten my funds back yet, they asked me to submit some documents I'm yet to, because I cant reach them at the moment, but I will definitely share the updates once I do.

Thank you for reading, and have a nice day.

Sort:  

Praying that you have your funds back to you in no time once you're filled with a lot of evidences that can definitely be of help. As for the steem, you've said it well the best time for the business portion up here is now because we do not know what tomorrow have for us but it could be in steem that's the fact

Lets hope for the best

Am happy for you @mistakili, I cannot imagine the way you would have felt after the funds were hacked and stolen. I pray you get the notification of a reimbursement very soon

I could not cry or shout, no one will hear, most of all they will say, did they not warn me! I pray too, thanks so much

it's nice to hear that there are good people out there. Too bad about your account getting hacked. I know that I am very reticent to ever enter my keys even on this site. LastPass helps a lot with that but since your hack was server side and not user error, i guess that wouldn't have helped.

Thank you for your support and encouragement, i'm so glad you stopped by

I would say that waiting to spend is the higher risk than doing it now.

Lol FOMO be doing people like me a lot

Fear of missing out

Steem is exceptional, it gives answers

I'll be honest with you, I have no idea what "FOMO" means.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77