Work-Life Balance On Steemit

in #bigwaves6 years ago (edited)

WLB.jpeg
Source

Hi everyone, I hope we have all had a great week so far? I have, despite my new diet and exercise regime! Both have been rather weakening and depressing especially because I can't eat the things I love to eat, however I have an undeniable joy inside of me, a constant heady dance beat going on in my head because of the beautiful figures I can see on my weighing scale. It's working! I am losing the unwanted weight! The week has just begun so there is still time enough to turn things around in your favor if you haven't been having such a great time. To do that, you'll need to note the things that have been a downer for you and the things that have the potential to turn you on mentally and psychologically. Then be very deliberate in your actions by deleting the downers or becoming determined not to let them get you down and inculcate the highs/dopamine inducers into your daily schedule at least once a day. You'll be amazed at how your week would take a turn for the better!

single line green leaf.png

All that was just preamble and friendly advice from your "friendly neighborhood Psychologist" (special shout out to @nevies, aka friendly neighborhood gangster...I hope he doesn't mind sharing his alias with me...lol). So here is my main message or you can call it the topic of discussion for today...Work-Life Balance on Steemit. I made a post last week titled "Married To My Laptop" and shared with you all my current challenges as regards trying to be a full time Steemian. I also asked you to share with me your special tips on how you manage the ups and downs;

single line green leaf.png

Recently, my husband's been teasing me a lot about being more in love with the laptop than with him. Uhmmm...I know there is a thin line between his jokes and true feelings so I'm taking that as a warning of some sorts. I guess that's one of the "work hazards" of being an active Steemian. There is just soo much to do, to read and to digest on Steemit. There are just so many amazing articles to learn from. And as I try to focus on this, my Whatsapp messages keep beeping on and off. In fact, I had to turn off data on my phone this morning and log out of whatsappweb on the laptop just to focus! Discord makes it even more beautifully complicated with the multiple channels and the playful bots and the lovely music! Seriously guys, how do you compartmentalize your activities so that working online doesn't interfere with regular day to day activities?

single line green leaf.png

To read the full post, please click [here]. I got some really interesting feedback/responses to this question and I must say a very special thank you to @pangoli, @nevies, @zoneboy, @idunique, @caesar816, @doris-adioha, @antigenx & @loladelolz. They all contributed both advice and experience to that post with their unique comments. You guys are fantastic and y'all inspired me to dig for more information about how best to balance my work on Steemit and my life without focusing on one at the expense of the other.

single line green leaf.png

What Is Work-Life Balance (WLB)?


Work-life balance is simply the ability to effectively manage your life at work as well as your life at home without any one affecting the other adversely. Our use of smart mobile phones, multifaceted social media app like Google, Steemit, Discord, Whatsapp, Instagram, Skype etc have made it even easier to work without having to do the regular 8am to 5am kind jobs and still be busier than those who do!

Work–life balance is the term used to describe the balance that an individual needs between time allocated for work and other aspects of life. Areas of life other than work-life can be, but not limited to personal interests, family and social or leisure activities.
WIKIPEDIA

single line green leaf.png

Consequences of work-life imbalance

You begin to spend less time with your family and friends.

You begin to refrain from things that you enjoy normally.

You no longer focus on spending time to develop yourself personally and spiritually.

You feel constantly stressed or close to a burnout

All these could lead to both psychological and physiological issues like insecurity, irritability, exhaustion, headaches, migraines, stiffness of your muscles, backache, sexual problems between couples, weaker immune system and so many others.

single line green leaf.png

Improving Work-Life Balance

Work at jobs you have a passion for. It allows you focus on things you are good at, and things you enjoy doing.

Manage your time efficiently by having a schedule and prioritizing properly

Ensure you set aside some time just for yourself, doing things you enjoy, things that relax you

Have fixed hours for work and do your best to maintain those hours

Always plan your finances ahead, have a workable budget.

Plan your life both in the short term and in the long term. It would help determine your to-do lists.

Ensure you have a personalised work-station or work space.

Know your limit and take time off when you need it regardless of the pressure to go on.

single line green leaf.png

If you take heed of all of the above, you would definitely experience less stress, increased happiness, better health, increased productivity both at work and at home, a positive perception of life. Do tell me if you think it's worth it or not, to have a great work-life balance. Share your thoughts with me and feel free to add your unique voice by contributing an addition, subtraction or adjustment to all I have shared.

Cheers and thanks for reading!!

Sort:  

Wow @mosunomotunde this is a bomb you have really enlighten a lot of people through this your inspirational posts. God bless you

I'm glad to hear this

Good advice.

My problem has always been managing my time effectively. Just like you said yesterday, it seems time is not just enough. I'd put everything you said into practice, I just need self-discipline.

I agree... It's not easy but one can get it right if deliberate

Fine Anty....
Well written post, but most times some things are easier said than done.
I am currently in a place where my mobile network is terrible and the only time I can browse at a moderate speed is during the early hours of the morning and very late at night, and I have a daytime job. How do I balance work and steemit then?

Fine baby girl...No scenario is cast in stone...there'll always be shades of grey between the blacks and the whites and there in lies your responsibility. You'll need to find what works for you. For example, my time is flexible so I have decided to drop my work tools as soon as hubby comes home and as soon he is asleep, I can pick them up again and work through the night. That works perfectly for me but it won't work for many others.

Wow! This is wonderful message you have just drop and it as just wake my mine up now.
Do u know i steem with my phone and u know what that means, it as not been easy with me and i have been missing out in a lot of activities because phone has is own limit it goes.

But then thanks a lot, i wish i knew u by now i will have learn a lot from you ma* @mosunomotunde

Hey love, call me Mosun. Your phone has the capacity to do every thing the laptop can on Steemit. All you need is to know how. I wrote yesterday's post on my phone. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

Well I've recently been scared.
I get too busy and i hardly have time for people.
I feel like responsibilities are piling up and o can't meet up.
This feeling scares me especially when it comes to marriage.

I do wonder how wives and mothers cope.
Welldone ma

Life changes for the better when you get married because now there are 2 great heads working to achieve the goals and not just 1. It would work out to your benefit eventually, you'll see

Compelling and superb.

This is a bit helpful, thanks mum
Cos i'm here battling with school work, i have my first paper tomorrow and i'm still guled to the screen. Smiles.

You know, have heard a while lot about you and it my first time of reading your post. And i got it just the way i expected.
Smiles, how are those beautiful girls.
My greetings to them oo

Awwwwnnn... You are so very sweet! Thanks for this beautiful compliment. I'm glad you liked what you read. I will show the girls your message after school tomorrow. I wish you all the best in your exam tomorrow!

Amen, thanks mum😁

Thanks so much for this ma'am. We should always try to effectively manage our life at work with our life at home without any one affecting the other.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mosunomotunde from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87