Orcas *Orcinus orca* on Commencement Bay

in #birding5 years ago

Orcas_3629.JPG

This was taken on a close in pass by two Orcas passing the point.

Today my target bird was a not-happening Ancient Murrelet. I started at Dickman Mill and Dash Point, where there was happening, but on my third stop I was completely sidetracked when on checking out a flock of gulls, I noted an Orca whale. As I looked around I found several more, and one pair came in pretty close. They seemed to be cruising around the bay this morning, without a clear direction of travel. These photos are not great, but document a really cool find.

Orca_3634.JPG
This was about what I first saw.

Orca_3637.JPG
Then they came a bit closer.

Orcas_3631.JPG

Orca_3637.JPG

I did manage a few bird photos too. These are from a sparrow field

CHSP_3660.JPG
Chipping Sparrows Spizella passerina are pretty common in some areas nearby in summer, but it is late now and they are not common this time of year.

HOFI_3678.JPG
House Finches Haemorhous mexicanus are our common finch, but I like this backdrop.

LISP_3657.JPG
Lincoln's Sparrows Melospiza lincolnii are always fun to see. I think they are very elegant.

Good birding. Steem on! Hooray for Orcas!!

Sort:  

aw, you got good pictures of the Orcas :D im sorry to hear you dident find your target birds thow.. A really nice post :)

You got a 11.46% upvote from @booster courtesy of @birdbanter!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

i thought the post would be some orca steem account haha but pretty lucky to see not 1 but a pair orca real life ! i haven't even see one in real life myself yet.

PS :
Autopost post from instagram to steemit EASILY, new dapp share2steem | Get daily upvotes from s2s and 287 users who activate unique double curation! | Let’s onboard 1% of insta users, and show them the possibilities with steem !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75