Kea (Nestor notabilis) • Fiordland National Park, New Zealand

in #birds6 years ago

“A small group of keas were out in the rain on our way to Milford Sound, so Jay and I stopped to observe them for awhile. They are as curious as their reputation tells and it didn’t take long for one to hop on our car. This one was caught just before taking off. When their wings open they become a very colorful bird.”

Kea-Nestor_notabilis-Jozef_K._Richards-Bird_Land-King's_Tower_Productions.jpg
photo by Jozef K. Richards @jozefkrichards

Visit the official site, BirdLand.World

Follow us :
@BirdLand on Steemit
@WorldofBirdLand on Twitter and Instagram
@BirdLandWorld on Facebook

Videos uploaded to the King's Tower Channel on YouTube
kingstowerproductions.com

Sort:  

we also saw a couple on the Franz Joseph Glacier... they are apparently as smart as 4or5 year olds
very cool birds

I didn't make it over to Franz Josef, but I hope to on a future trip! Agreed on the kea too, very cool. When they were hopping around near us, I picked up on an awareness from them on the level of a dog or cat at home. They were very with it. Although a five year old, I don't think even my cat and dog are that smart!

Thats what i found about them and what the guide told us. We did the ice climbing trip and they were hopping around us, curious as to what we were doing

Fantastic! Great to see this project get moving with such a unique bird full of personality!

Indeed! It is my favorite New Zealand bird.

Was this with your telephoto lens? It looks so close up!

It was a telephoto, but it was the Sony 55-210mm that I featured in an early blog post rather than the 100-400mm that I usually use. Still helpful, but I was pretty close to these guys.

@birdland, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Congratulations @birdland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23