Acorn Woodpecker

in #birds5 years ago

IMG_1203.jpg

Acorn Woodpeckers are a medium sized woodpecker with a clownish face. Acorn Woodpeckers are very unusual - living in large groups and hoarding hundreds of acorns in a tree full of holes (and acorns) called a granary.

IMG_1191.jpg

Here's a good shot of this group's granary tree. Zooming in on this last photo you can see lots of holes most of them already with an acorn stuffed inside!

IMG_1254.jpg
Dublin, California. November 2018. All photos original.

Sort:  

Interesting last pic, I thought the woodpeckers were looking for insects in the trunks and not hiding their food.

Yes I think these woodpeckers are quite unique in hoarding acorns

I think this is a similar woodpecker to the ones we have in the area. That red head reminds me of ours.

Cool. Thanks for visiting my blog

Nice and interesting shots ...

I love the tree with all the holes, stuffed full of acorns. I remember first time I saw that and I thought the tree was diseased or something. Its just weird

I love this acorn woodpecker! I took lots of picture of them pecking holes on the palm trees when I was in California three years ago..

Some great shots you got there!

Thanks @icybc They are attractive plus their interesting behavior

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70