#Ulog Ep. 9 - I'm the Maya Bird, Yes I'm the Real Maya Bird

in #birds6 years ago

A lot of confusion has been made in regards to the real Maya bird in our country. If you would go out right now and ask anyone on the streets and ask what is the maya bird. Around 70 or 80% would point you a little brown bird that can be seen everywhere. In fact the real identity of the bird is very different from the little brown bird that everyone is referring to.


I'm the Maya Bird, Yes I'm the Real Maya Bird

1.jpg

leaf 18.png

Eurasian Tree Sparrow

The bird that has been confused with the maya bird. A part of the sparrow family it has a chestnut crown and collar with patches of black on it's cheeks. They are found in Eurasia and southeast Asia where its population is widely spread. As stowaway in ships they are also known to reach Egypt, Israel, Dubai and other middle eastern countries. North America is no exception and has a population which has been established in St. Louis. In 1870 there were 12 birds which were introduced from Germany as a part of a project to enhance the birds in the region.

It's diet consist of seeds, grain and insects. It's predators include owls and falcons but here in our country especially in urban areas there are no predators. It's population is steady but does not cause any issues in urban areas. Although in 1958 there was an attempt by China to reduce the damage of the the sparrows to its crops. There was a campaign to eliminate the sparrows. An army of scarecrows and three million people joined the crusade to drive the birds away and force them to die by exhaustion. It was a success for a while but due to the ecological imbalance. The population of insect pest and locusts increased dramatically leading to a famine that caused the death of 30 million people.

A lesson learned thru history that we should not dabble with nature and its cycle. There are always repercussions which will affect our lives and future generation. Unfortunately some still does not learn from the mistakes of the past.

3.jpg

With the introduction of the mistaken identity of the Eurasian Tree Sparrow. Let me introduce to you the Real Maya Bird which was considered as the National Bird in the Philippines. Its reign lasted until 1995 when it was replaced by the Philippine Eagle as the National Bird of the country.

4.JPG

Chestnut Munia

Also known as the Black headed munia it is a bird with a black head, pale blue grey beak and a brick red body. It is very different from the Eurasian Tree Sparrow although the size is comparable, the difference is very clear. Can be found in Brunai, Cambodia, China, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and even Hawaii. The population of this bird is not quite dominant than the Eurasian Tree Sparrow and it is rarely seen in our small city. With a diet of grain and seeds they are mostly found in fields and open grasslands.

This is the Maya bird that everyone should be able to recognize. Giving it the proper credit it deserves as once it was considered as the Philippine National Bird.

7.jpg

At the back part of our house is a private lot in which I have a clear view from a window. The lot is being developed but only from time to time. Plants and tall grasses has grown which attracted these birds. There is only a specific time of day when the maya birds appear. They can be seen past noon around 2-4 pm which starts with 2-3 birds and then followed by more later on.

8.1.jpg

It was just yesterday when I decided to take a couple of shots of these beautiful birds. Armed with my 40-150 mm Olympus zoom lens. I waited in a hot room for a chance to capture some images. All sweaty because of the heat I waited and finally paid off as the birds started to appear.

8.jpg

Where they come from or hide is something I do not know. Two birds came into view and followed by another two more. I felt like I was out birding in the wilds and I did not mind the heat. In an urban small patch of grassland these birds found refuge which bothers me to think that soon the construction would start again.

9.jpg

Removing the tall grasses would drive away these birds. Where would they go to? A small sanctuary sad to say is not forever. What burdens me most is I may also never see them again. Makes me think if we were only well off, we would have purchased this piece of land and planted trees and plants instead. Leaving the small area for the birds to thrive and enjoy their lives in peace.

10.jpg

I noticed that some of them were flying away with dried grass. Could their habitat be close by and preparing a nest. Their nest is like a large dome made of grass and they lay around 4-7 eggs.

11.jpg

A playground for the maya birds which lasts a couple of hours. No one else seems to take notice as the private lot is walled and only the caretakers are allowed inside. I am not even sure if the caretakers are aware of these fine feathered friends.

12.jpg

13.jpg

More of them flew in which was surprising. Unlike the tree sparrow these birds flocked together like a closely tight family. I would like to see them thrive and their population rise. It would be sight if we could see them flying around not only in a small patch of grassland behind our house. What if there is no more place for them to go in our city? How will their population survive? I hope they find a way and another place in a secluded area, in case the owner of the lot starts to clear the place up. Sad but like us life finds a way no matter how hard it is. We survive and continue the fight.

14.JPG

I hope it clears up the confusion of the identity of the real Maya bird. It would take a while to let others know who the real Maya is but this is a start. Maybe one day if I ask someone on the streets, "What is a Maya bird?" I would be pointed to a black headed bird with a brick red body.

Thanks for joining me today and I hope you enjoyed my bird photography in a small patch of urban grassland, looking thru a window in a small hot room.

15.jpg

Resources

Eurasian tree sparrow
Chestnut Munia

leaf 18.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and Olympus 40-150mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

Nice pictures and fantastic information. The Maya bird kind of reminds me of the cowbird that we have in the states. I think the Maya bird is much better looking though. Cowbirds and kind of bullies and they tend to take food from the smaller more visually appealing birds. Thanks for sharing this post!

Thank you very much! That cowbird sounds like a gangster lol.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-15T11:33:42
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 646.18/800.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 55
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi @watersnake101! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Chck out this new post from @dswigle: Click. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators - pays out 100% of profit + 50% curation rewards to all investors.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #138 (5/18/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

excellent shots!! Those birds can be found anywhere.. I've seen a lot of them last 2 months ago flocking near beside the Robinsons mall.

It is good to know that there are still a lot of them there. It is saddening to see only few here.

It is lovely! Loss of habitat is a huge problem for so many species the world around.

It is very sad as I am an animal lover. Losing species is losing a part of our beautiful world and what is worse our next generation won't be able to see them anymore if we lose them.

I agree, and it is crazy how quickly we are losing them.

Very unusual birds for me) But I think that I would not never have mistaken them with sparrows.

Hey thanks for checking. I did not even know they existed until like two years ago.

This is an absolutely wonderful post and I am so glad that I came upon it. I have learned many things about the Maya bird , and especially about the Sparrow that was mistakenly identified. You possess a talent to take the reader with you as you educate me in matters of the world. Thank you so much and I appreciate reading such reading such an awesome post. I do hope that people have learned a little something so that history may never repeat itself again.

Tip!

@dswigle Hey thank you very much for having a look. It took me the whole afternoon to finish this post which I did not notice that it took me that long lol. I'm glad you appreciate it and the Maya is really something. Don't you think? Though it is saddening to see them go once construction starts again. I'm not sure what our neighbor will be constructing there. I appreciate how you were able to see the message that I was trying to convey and I hope others will too.

A beautiful bird and great pictures watersnake101. I hope to visit the Philippines one day and will be sure to look out for the Maya bird :-)

A lesson learned thru history that we should not dabble with nature and its cycle. There are always repercussions which will affect our lives and future generation. Unfortunately some still does not learn from the mistakes of the past.

What you say here is so right. It incenses me how we have messed with nature, always trying to improve on things which are working absolutely fine in the first place. Nature should be allowed to get on with things, naturally. Great article

Ah if you are into birding we have beautiful birds up in the mountains. I myself have not seen them. Maybe if life slows down a bit and improves. I would love to go up there and maybe invite you over too lol.
I do agree that they should stop messing with nature and just let it run thru it's course.

I'm not a 'twitcher' as we call people who are avid bird spotters in the UK but more a person who appreciates all nature and wilderness spaces. I am a keen scuba diver but honestly I would be absolutely in heaven watching birds in the tropics as much as swimming among the coral cauldrons on the reef. I traveled in Thailand some years ago and more recently in southern Mexico and love the wildlife in the tropics. I can't wait to get back to the wild-life ;-)

You must have a lot of amazing stories to tell from your adventures. I need to escape from a jungle called office and see nature hahaha. Last nature trip we had as I recall was on the mouth of a volcano which I posted I think early this year. As you mentioned you are a diver you must do underwater photography and share with us. I love the ocean just not a diver.

What is going on @watersnake101?

So, can Maya bird learn to talk?

I remeber reading somewhere that you can teach them to talk if they are kept as pets.

Hey how are you? Me just chillin and playing National Geographic lol.
Have not seen any maya birds lately flying to my window and calling me names lol kidding. I think you might have mixed it up with the mynah bird now that bird is a talker. One house on the way to the market has one and everytime a lady passes by it whistles. When I pass by it says "Pangit, Pangit" which means "Ugly, Ugly". How I'd love to get in there and strangle that bird lol. Well he says that to all the guys passing by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99