Ratel's photos #155 Water Birds-9

in #birdwatching6 years ago

DSC_4800-1.jpg

The common kingfisher (Alcedo atthis) also known as the Eurasian kingfisher, and river kingfisher
Short-legged beauty! Very bright and beautiful plumage. Blue-turquoise, iridescent. And a fiery reddish abdomen.
Here in Siberia, this bird listed in the "Red Book", because he quite rare.

DSC_4836-1.jpg

It is not difficult to guess that this fisherman is fed on small fish. Here it is clear how he is sitting on a branch looking for prey

DSC_4935.jpg

As soon as he sees the fish, he immediately flies to this place, hovers in the air like a hummingbird and ...
And like a bullet dives under the water. After a couple of seconds flies out of the water with prey.

DSC_4809-1.jpg

I spent 3 days to make these photos.
On the first day, I accidentally noticed it. I sat resting, hiding under a bush. Suddenly, I see something blue flying over the water. I immediately realized that this is kingfisher.
On the second day I went to make sure he was living here, or just flew by. It turned out that he was again in these parts. And again I was resting, sitting on the bank of the river, a kingfisher flew from behind a bush, did not expect to see me, was frightened, squeaked and flew back.
On the third day I already hunted for him. I had to jump into the river and move her to wade to the other side where I saw him.

***

  • Nikon D5200
  • Tamron SP AF 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD

#animalphotography #birds #photofeed #whalepower #photo #photography

Sort:  

I recently went on a trip to Kenya, and learned that though many kingfishers are fish eaters, a lot live in arid almost desert climates and eat insects and small vertebrates. This was interesting to me given their common name.

Yes, it is interesting! Survive as they can. I noticed, in the autumn, many insectivorous birds switch to vegetable feed. And even now, when there are already insects, I watch birds still eat different grains, seeds.

rusteemteam!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T05:45:51
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 554.32/800.00
Total Photos: 66
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 2.98 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @ratel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19