2nd Stemmiversary ramble

in #birthday5 years ago


t5hhrhmjk5.png

It feels way longer than 2 years since I introduced my alter ego "Flipstar".


qbxvsi3lik.jpg

source

A journey full of ...

...full of mixed emotions. Jealousy, disappointments and frustration but also a lot of laughs, support, hope and friendship.

2 years ago Steem was a different beast. No one was playing Steemmonsters or got gray hair because magic dice just exit scammed.

It was only about blogging and Steemit. When I joined the drama was all about if you should upvote your own comments.

Trending was bid bot free and full of good and shit posts. A hardfork was around the corner, people were talking about whale wars and in the middle somewhere a clueless Flipstar trying to make sense out of Steem, SBD, SP and Steemit.


ti83q16dvy.jpg

Confidence or arrogance

Probably a mix of both made me post my introduction post. I could not find a blog like I was planning and despite people never asked for this they clearly wanted one...at least that was my hope.

Also Jerry Banfield promised Steem will be the way to the promised land (yes looking back I would like to had a better reason why I joined as well).

I think you also need both to blog. The confidence to put yourself out there and the arrogance to believe people will actually read, enjoy and here ultimatelyupvote your content.

Envy and hope as a carrot on a stick

Works for them so why does it not work for me...it will work for me as well.

Something like this had to be my thoughts for quite some time.

And with every new follower and true interaction I had, the carrot seems to come closer and suddenly the person holding the carrot let you have a bite and I were able to cross over several goals I set for myself.

  • x amount of follower
  • x amount of upvotes on a post
  • x amount of payouts on a post

So new goals, new carrot and on you go


spibtuasp0.jpg

Not only Steem changed

No, in those 2 years I ve changed myself and with that my perception of Steem.

This seems to be an ever evolving process.

I take my account and my journey here serious...mostly. This came to a point were I had absolutely no fun here and was only frustrated. This even spread into my "real life" and was not what I signed up for and so I had to rethink and adjust my relationship with this blockchain (sounds ridiculous if I write it out tbh)

Looking ahead

I figure also in the next 2 years Steem will be a source of frustration. But I am making an active effort to make it at least an equal amount of joy.

Sort:  

Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum zweiten Steemjahr und zum Überleben der Windpocken ;-)
Da mein Vote momentan sowieso etwas kleiner ist habe ich dir mal ein paar SBI shares geschickt, auf das die kommende Frustration dem Spaß unterliegt ^^

Die Pocken sind leider noch da aber es geht mir schon erheblich besser.

Das ist sehr nett von dir vielen dank.

Der Spass soll auf jeden Fall wieder erhöhtes vorkommen haben

Das ist gut zu hören, hoffentlich sind die Pocken auch bald endlich weg.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Brother. Congratulations! You/We survived out first two steemit years! You were one of the very first I got connected with. I remember asking me about Bali vs Thailand and MMA training. I'd love to see you kick someones ass in the octogon and give them chicken pox at the same time! lol

My experience has been very similar to yours. I don't know about you but I went through a burn out phase, and I'm now still trying to pull out of it. The burn out coincidental coincided with the drop in price, so it's been hard for me to pull out it. But I think about all the people I've met around the world through steemit and all the friends I've made here including you, and frankly it makes me want to refocus, and I certainly could start by writing my 2 year experience as well. After all we joined steemit just weeks apart.

Always a big thank you for supporting my unique travel content I share. It has meant a lot to me. So as I always ask....are you still in Phuket?

Seems like I've turned Thailand into my winter home, this winter will be the third year in a row now. Will likely be attending Steemfest 4, simply cause it will be in Thailand where I already plan to be. Do you think you will be going?

Man I just love Thailand. You picked a great country to call home.

Anyway. I don't write often, but when I do it's enough to make up for lost time! hahaha.

Wishing you the very best from Guayaquil Ecuador! -Dan

Where is my 2 year anniversary notification! Damn, time flys! 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

We need miuch more role model steemians like you :-)
Congrats dear @flipstar :-)
Resteemed :-)

I doubt that but I appricate the lie :-)

thank you for all the support through those 2 years

Beep Boop, botty loves you. :)

Happy steem-iversary, thanks for the support . Weve been through some good and bad times, but weve all made it this far.

Here is to another 2 years. Cheers (@welshstacker)

thank you.

Will be interesting to see how everything will look and work in 2 years.

Happy birthday man!

I know you've been up and down like a [insert country here] whore with the Steem at times, as have most of us I suspect (maybe without the whores though).

No longer enjoying something but doing it anyway sounds like a recipe for disaster and so I hope that your readjustments have worked and expectations are balanced right. Because, I like your shit-posts and banter in DM :)

Actaully there was. Before I got sick I made an effort to comment more and with that I got a lof of comments under my own shitposts again which was really motivating.

When I am totally recovered I want to continue on this path as it made my steem micro cosmos much more enjoyable.

The arrogant thought that people should come to me was in my subconscious somewhere I guess

Chicken Pox... you should have had it as a 6 year old!

I think you only need 20/30 frequent interactions - better for you and your account if these guys have some SP. oh, I just described a circle-jerk :)

But yeah, replying to almost every comment/visitor and a little vote, and some daily exploring of the chain is the way to do it.

6 year old Flipstar was an ass and dodged this somehow that sneaky bastard.

This circle jerk thing sounds intersting :-)

Like a I scratch your back and you mine kind of deal...like a backscratcher

C pox is one to get over and done with, I hear it becomes worse with age.

Something like that, although it's better to scratch the backs of people you engage with and enjoy making fun of :)

it is a bitch nevertheless and I hope I will no be Scarstar from now on.

The people I make fun of are not the people I engage or want to scratch their bags but the people I make fun with way more therfore

Glad you stuck around for 2 years. You are one of blogs I enjoy because it comes off as “real” to me.

Hope many of us are able to stick around for a long time to come!

that is quite the compliment.

thank you

Ohne Dich wäre es definitiv erheblich unlustiger hier. Ist mal wieder ein drunken Rage-Video geplant? Auf die nächsten 24 Monate. Cheers

Na ja wirklich geplant nicht aber ich werde bestimmt nochmal drunk sein und dabei ragen also, alles kann nichts muss

Herzliche Gratulation! 👏🏼
Auf weitere tolle Jahre! 😊Auch von mir viel Gesundheit! 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

vielen dank

How quickly the time flies around that's a perfect example what a journey you had here is spectacular many more years to come :D congratulations

thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75