Private Mining Farm Owner Reveals Best Graphics Cards to Buy

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Guest Poster:

I am mostly writing to help the few that will read this. I doubt it will get the attention it needs, but that is okay because if you’re reading this, count yourself lucky.

About a month ago I received several phone calls from people who know I specialize in mining and finding efficient computer parts. One of them was a long lost relative. It’s funny but 2 years ago I tried to convince him to take a chance on cryptocurrencies, but he thought it was mostly a joke.

So he calls me up to ask me, “Hey, I remember a long time ago you were into mining and investing in this coin called Bitcoin. How has it been and can you go over it again with me?”. This is a huge turnaround from our previous conversations to my surprise, but I’m guessing he saw Bitcoin leap to over $10,000.

My response to him was the same as usual. I’m doing well and “have you seen Bitcoin lately?”. He knew right away that I had tried to convince almost 2 years ago, so he immediately told me, “You were right, I cannot believe it myself. So what can you recommend me if I want to start?”

We went back and forth for about 10 minutes before he realized there was a clear level of knowledge behind my actions. In that moment he wrote a check asking me to invest in the right time and the right equipment.

Lucky for you, today I’m going to tell you the graphics card I am personally going to buy.

Now first, before we get into the part, let me tell you a little about my process so you can hunt for yourself. In order for me to find a good graphics card investment, it must follow all of these criteria and more, but I will only provide 5.

#1 The Graphics Card Should be New/Newer and Have Warranty#
This is one of my top priorities and if you noticed I said “Newer” because you can also buy used cards at steep discounts. What I’m looking for are cards that regardless of what happens I can still sell them at a profit to someone who is a gamer or someone interested in also mining. You do not want to touch cards that are older than 2-3 years, just don’t bother.

Note: The graphics card must be able to transfer warranty if used.

#2 The Price of the Card Must Be under MSRP#
I’ve spoken with many people and this one is tough for those outside the US. Since I live in the US, there are many times in which graphics cards are under MSRP, but if you live outside the US, consider finding a used card, one that is steeply discounted. The graphics card should allow me to stack as many coupons, rebates, and discounts as possible. Better yet, you know someone who is a certified reseller who can provide the discount.

#3 The Algorithms I plan to Mine Must be ASIC Resistant and Popular#
This one is a bit more difficult to find out. The reason is because ASIC resistance is merely a claim to many coins, such as Ethereum or Zcash, but both of those coins turned out to be ASIC capable.

The way to go about finding an ASIC resistant coin is to understand the community behind the algorithm and this is something that can be found. But you must do your research and read carefully between the lines. In terms of popularity, this coin must be among the top 20 coins. Don’t bother with trash coins as they are called. Stick to good coins.

#4 The card must be highly efficient for its Hashrate / Wattage#
Again, kind of obvious, but many professional miners don’t even follow this one. In fact, many professional miners will buy under efficient cards because people will sell them cheaply and they calculate they can turn a profit quickly.

This might be true, but of course when you run at scale, you may get lucky and the card run perfectly but many issues can arise. I have argued this with many miners over time, but in the end, it always comes down to realizing that by buying inefficient cards, they cannot scale as effectively and cannot run their miners for a much longer time. This makes a huge difference and just trust me, buy the more efficient one and follow rules #1 and #2.

#5 You Must Identify the Top Performing Models Among its Peers#
This one is another difficult one for most beginners. In actuality, some cards do mine better and perform a level above their counterparts but you must do your own research. Most cards should perform within 5-10% of each other, but when you scale, a 2% increase multiplied by X number of cards adds up real fast.

This is why you must find a card that performs above its peers and the moment it hits a sale, you must not hesitate to buy because others will purchase before you.

There are a few more criteria I make, but common every miner must have their own techniques. Alright so you’ve read all this information and you finally want to know the card you should buy.

So which card do you think I would recommend?

If you guessed the RX Vega 56 you hit the nail on the head ;).

RXVega.jpg

Pat yourself on the back. However, you still have to do your homework right? I’ve only told you what is the best model but you have to find the best manufacturer now. I hope you have enjoyed reading this. If you’re beyond frustrated, sorry, but I’m trying to impart wisdom on you too. Call it tough love.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post, bitrpc.

I hope you don't mind if I test out some sentiment analysis on your post. This is an experimental bot running on a small % of posts, and if reaction is positive I'll increase that ratio and add features.

Your post had an average negative sentiment of -0.031, an average positive sentiment of 0.136, and an average normalized sentiment of 0.10527450980392154

The most positive sentence in your post had a normalized positivity score of 0.608:

"I hope you have enjoyed reading this."

The most negative sentence in your post had a normalized negativity score of -0.277:

"One of them was a long lost relative."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87