Coinbase doesn't want my UK money: anyone else want it?

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

I first received some Bitcoin from a fawcet in 2014. 0.02 to be precise. I still have that.

I didn't really think much about crypto till last year when I started talking to @apshamilton about what has become the @jpbliberty Class Action lawsuit against the Tech Goliaths. I joined Steem around then and I've been here ever since. At the end of 2018 I went through the tedious process of opening KYC'd crypto trading accounts in the UK and in Israel (both places where I personal have bank accounts. It wasn't easy, there were a few false starts, but eventually I got Coinbase up and running in the UK.

I had two failures to send money to Coinbase both around the fact that my UK bank account is a joint account with my wife and they kept refusing the funds. They also had no automated way to tell them the bank account name was a contraction of my real name and included my wife's initial too. Total mess. Eventually I did make two deposits, bought some Bitcoin, sent it to Israel, kept some and sold some. Mostly to prove to myself the system would work.

Last week I thought I'd try to send £300 to Coinbase and buy some Steem (probably via Bitcoin and then Blocktrades or Bittres which are the two places I've found easiest to trade). After over a week (and I've had an unanswered support call all that time) I now see that my £300 is at least safely back in my UK bank account (without fees thankfully). Clearly Coinbase don't want to trade and I won't be using them again.

This industry is a bit of a mess.


And here’s my plug for the #CryptoClassAction where we’re suing Google, Facebook and Twitter for the good of the Cryptocosm. You can read a good explanation here on my blog.

You can join up direct on this form from JPBLiberty.

More details in this post

Sort:  

Try cex.io i use it, it is great

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm just tired of the entire KYC dance and even though I have a bank account in the UK, I'm not resident there and that causes all sorts of headaches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87