Why I'm Not A Bitcoin Maximalist And Never Will BesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin5 years ago

There are still a lot of people who feel like holding just Bitcoin is the only strategy that makes sense and that the alt coin projects are just distractions from Bitcoin which they think can do everything that any alt coin can do. That is laughable.

Different code bases, improved tech, more aggressive development, and price psychology are all reason why I'm not a Bitcoin maximalist and never will be. For the time being I will stay invested in Bitcoin but it will be a smaller percentage of my portfolio than some of the altcoins like EOS, Litecoin, and Monero. The altcoins surge more in the bull markets. If you have been following my Litecoin purchases I purched a lot at below $30 / Litecoin and then picked up another big set at $30 / Litecoin. Now we are sitting at $57. That is way better than I would have done with Bitcoin. Also I pounded out EOS orders at below $2 and the same situation has occurred.

Sort:  

Bro i actually tried so hard to become a bitcoin maximalist and failed hahah. I was interested in many altcoins and actually preferred litecoin over bitcoin. After seeing bitcoin maximalists talk so much about how everything else is a shitcoin and how bitcoin is the only true cryptocurrency blah blah blah, i thought to myself “you know what? Maybe they are right. Perhaps im dumb and they know better than me.”

Tried to convince myself how bitcoin is much better than anything else and couldnt fuckin do it. The low supply, slow speeds, lightning network, etc just aggravated me even more to the point where i actually talk negatively about bitcoin and appreciate altcoins even more now.

Posted using Partiko Android

After hearing their arguments it honestly becomes apparent that they don't know what they are talking about. LOL

I have never had problems with litecoin. It works quickly and can handle more transactions. As much as people hate on roger ver, i think hes right. Things like the lightning network makes things less peer to peer. WeChat payments in China are so fast and free. Setting up payment channels and all that nonsense sounds dumb.

Posted using Partiko Android

They try to religionize things and turn people away lol

For some people, Bitcoin is almost religion. Tribalism in crypto is pretty funny when you think about it.

I was more tribal in the 2013 / 2014 boom and bust but I realized it was dumb and to have investments in several of the projects trying to do similar things so I always had horses in the race!

Diversifying your crypto assets portfolio is the wisest and best way to invest in the crypto market . I agree with your assertion because I do also have alot of alt coins in my portfolio also

I'm really glad Litecoin is back past Bitcoin Cash. that is a side note but I think the whole Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin SV thing really fractured even that community.

I think one thing that creates a lot of BTC maximalists is the fact that it has the longest price history. In the future once we see quadruple digit altcoins more it will be less common I think. BTC block times have been fairly inconsistent lately

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have been looking at the ground and shaking my head about Bitcoin scaling since 2015. It is actually sad. when we start to surge again every block will be full again. Even now there are days when the blocks are full. $300 fees to move $20 worth. get ready! Hahhaha

Yeah honestly it’s sad because it’s just going to make it harder for people to wrap their head around crypto. That this is the OG and it’s running worse than it did in 2009

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah absolutely. That is why I was partially dumbfounded that BTC went so high in this last boom considering it didn't even work like it did when i got involved in 2013 and the fees were out of control.

Now I realize that when the n00bs spill onto the exchanges like Coinbase they don't ever move it. they just throw money at it and don't know how to send it or try to send it anywhere.

Everyone trying to move it realize it is joke status and had to use DOGE !!!! LOL

If we look at monetary history, we find that everything from seashells to coupons, cigarettes and various national fiat have been used as money. Everything has some value and everything can be traded. If bitcoin is the only thing that can have value, then trade would be unnecessary.

There has never been just "one" currency. There is no reason to expect that bitcoin will become the one and only currency as this goes completely contrary to historical trends and human nature.

Exactly! There is plenty of room for tons of projects

Posted using Partiko Android

As an investor diversification is important and be beneficial.
In tech and progress compatition and variety are good for the evolution.
So either way being amaxamaliat is not beneficial.

Never put all the eggs in the same basket, isn't it.

You’re satoshi huh? 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81