How to keep track of your gains

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

The new sector of cryptocurrency is extremely enticing and it has been filled with ultimate gains, losses too. As we know, the bear market is currently ensuing and the ultimate shakeout is upon us. It is critical to protect capital in bear markets. Yet, how do you keep track of your gains? Do you?

Here's a few strategies I like to use:

Excel is your friend

Learning Microsoft office is something they taught us in grade school and something they emphasize in the business college at UF. Its quite funny actually because every student puts it on their resume as some sort of skill. Yes, it takes awhile to get used to it, but any average 5th grader could make beautiful spreadsheets. All this means is you can too.

Excel spreadsheet is strictly for your trades.

So, the date, type of trade, leverage(if used), entry/exit, stop loss, PNL %, starting balance, ending balance.

Here is an example of one of my losing trades: I did not fill in certain boxes for my own reasons, but you can see it is effective. If you do this, it will improve your trades no doubt. It doesn't allow you to get away with mistakes and emotion. Trust me, when you document those losses it hurts.

Screen Shot 2018-06-11 at 2.12.43 PM.png

  • Yes, I chose to do a losing trade. Weird right? Point is, charting your trades helps you to understand your losses. Thus, you begin to truly learn from them and be more profitable.

Outside income source budget

I have started to record all of my gains outside of crypto onto an excel sheet as well. It helps me keep track of where my money is and where its going. Also, it pushes me to make money everyday. Not filling out that sheet each day puts a bit of a strain on me. As an entrepreneur, it is crucial to do some sort of income generating activity each day. Often times its trading, writing articles for Omniloquent, working, selling my program etc., you get the point.

I have also found it vitally important to track your monthly income and expenses. Set some goals and go get them.

All in all, documenting your personal finances can really wake you up to how much money you are really making. Enjoy the summer, do not stop grinding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73